Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2016, 09:48 AM   #1
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
Will this AUX-USB module from AliExpress work with W58824 radio?

Hi,

Bought a 1.3 2006 XP9 Yaris a few weeks ago.

It has the W58824 radio and i would like to add aux-capability.
I prefer using a USB-stick and found this device: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Car-USB-Aux-...-/162008909517 (WT-USB).

It doesn't mention my radiotype (W58824) at the bottom of the page, but 'For Yaris 2006-2010' is mentioned, and that matches my car, a Yaris from 2006.

Or are there maybe better alternatives? I also know about the existence of the 'Yatour' and 'Dension Gateway' devices, but they are very pricey. And in general, all of these devices emulate a CD-changer, so the functionality should be similar i guess...

Could anyone tell me if this unit would work?

By the way: awesome write-up about the DIY cruise, it's such a pity that it isn't possible on the Europe-made models of the Yaris... I now have to buy a cruise control set that costs around 500 (~$560).

Last edited by ThinkPad; 05-27-2016 at 02:37 AM.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:40 AM   #2
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
Will this AUX-USB module from AliExpress work with W58824 radio? --> YES!

Hi,

Bought a 1.3 2006 XP9 Yaris a few weeks ago.

It has the W58824 radio and i would like to add aux-capability.
I prefer using a USB-stick and found this device: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Car-USB-Aux-...-/162008909517 (WT-USB).

It doesn't mention my radiotype (W58824) at the bottom of the page, but 'For Yaris 2006-2010' is mentioned, and that matches my car, a Yaris from 2006.

Or are there maybe better alternatives? I also know about the existence of the 'Yatour' and 'Dension Gateway' devices, but they are very pricey. And in general, all of these devices emulate a CD-changer, so the functionality should be similar i guess...

Could anyone tell me if this unit would work?

By the way: awesome write-up about the DIY cruise, it's such a pity that it isn't possible on the Europe-made models of the Yaris... I now have to buy a cruise control set that costs around 500 (~$560).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wt_usb_aux.jpg (29.4 KB, 307 views)

Last edited by ThinkPad; 06-02-2016 at 09:31 AM. Reason: Added image
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 12:22 PM   #3
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
Ok, i asked the seller and he replied that it should work.

So i ordered the module, now have to wait 2wks before it will arive. I will post here if it is working or not :) Very curious how good it will perform.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 01:55 AM   #4
Kar98
 
Drives: 2011 Scion tC
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DFW
Posts: 651
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49986
Kar98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 04:28 AM   #5
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
I have seen that topic.

If you look closely, you will see that he posted a lot of information, but the bottomline is that he hasn't got it to work (yet?), he just posted it for later reference or so.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 09:17 AM   #6
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
I received the WT-USB'-module from Wiiki-tech today and it works excellent with my W58824 stock radio in our Yaris XP9 from 2006.

It just plugs in the CD-changer connector at the back of the radio. When you press the 'Disc' button on the radio, it goes to 'CDCH'-input. The connector is fairly widespread on Toyota's, so i think it will work on a big number of stock units.

USB-stick can be connected, or a device with 3.5mm connector.

You can just throw all the MP3-files in the root of the USB-stick, or create folders like CD02, CD03 and place files in there. The folders will be seen as separate discs and you can easily browse between them with the 'DISC^' and 'DISC V' on the radio.

Steering wheel controls work fine. The module also pauses when you switch to other sources like FM and resumes playing nicely when switching back to the CDCH source. Playing starts quickly and back/forth between files is also fast. Faster than my burned MP3-CDs.

I forgot to check if the display of the radio will show you the ID3-tags of MP3-files on the stick, will check that later.

What is also nice, is that the 'random' function of the radio also works when skipping files by hand. When i tried that with a MP3-CD i burned, that didn't work. When i skipped by hand it just went 1 > 2. It only worked when a song had ended by itself.
But with this WT-USB module i can also skip by hand random, which is great because i often just skip through some songs when driving.

20 euros / 22 US$ well spent!! Search for 'Car USB Aux-in Adapter MP3 Player Radio Interface for Toyota Camry/Corolla S5A4' on eBay. I bought it at seller 'vigorouspart555'.

Because i like to fiddle around with electronics, i decided to open the unit and have a look on the insides.

Most important parts:
- MVSilicon AU7860A (USB HOST MP3/WMA DECODER)
- Atmel ATmega8A (low-power CMOS 8-bit microcontroller) i think this is for talking to the radio over the CD-changer bus (Toyota uses AVC-LAN protocol i thought)
- ACT4060A (step-down switch mode converter).

Further it was all passive components like resistors and stuff. I posted pictures of the insides here: https://imgur.com/a/eeBXc
Attached Images
File Type: jpg radio.jpg (104.7 KB, 303 views)

Last edited by ThinkPad; 06-02-2016 at 09:33 AM.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 03:46 AM   #7
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
Tested some more yesterday, and it doesn't display any Song information (id3-tags). That is the only downside i could find so far. But to me it doesn't matter as it works great apart from that.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 03:16 PM   #8
CoryM
 
Drives: 2009 5-door, 5-speed
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 687
Thanks for posting your results, and photos. I've been wanting one of these for a long time but always stop due to the fact they don't list my model of radio (09 5dr), and because of the unknown quality. That board actually looks pretty good, although I don't know components well enough to know much. I'll order one and try it.


Cheers.
CoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:42 PM   #9
CoryM
 
Drives: 2009 5-door, 5-speed
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 687
Ordered the same one, and installed it today. Works great on my 09 5dr ( single disc player with AUX port). So nice to have my full music library on tap. Thanks again for posting your results.

Cheers.
CoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 05:20 AM   #10
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
Good to hear.

I noticed that when i connect a device (like smartphone) to the 3.5mm connector, i need to crank up the volume on my radio really high to hear something. It might be improved by changing a resistor inside the module but i barely use the 3.5mm plug, so i'm not going to invest time in that. USB works fine for me.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:35 PM   #11
CoryM
 
Drives: 2009 5-door, 5-speed
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkPad View Post
Good to hear.

I noticed that when i connect a device (like smartphone) to the 3.5mm connector, i need to crank up the volume on my radio really high to hear something. It might be improved by changing a resistor inside the module but i barely use the 3.5mm plug, so i'm not going to invest time in that. USB works fine for me.
Seems like that is pretty normal for most AUX. I have factory AUX on mine, and that is why I wanted USB. Especially annoying when you get some radio interference through the AUX and your volume is set so high. Hard on the speakers (and the nerves).

Still happy with mine, though I did manage to freeze it for a bit once by fast-forwarding through a song a bunch of times. It did sort itself out after a while and a bunch of key-offs though.

Cheers.
CoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 12:14 AM   #12
essence
I've made a post!
 
Drives: 2012 4dr Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1
Curious: has anyone installed a USB port which has provided them with file info on their stock head unit? I'd hate to not have access to my music info prior to actually playing particular songs.
essence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 12:27 AM   #13
CoryM
 
Drives: 2009 5-door, 5-speed
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 687
EDIT: This post is lies. All lies! USB does not display song info.

This one does display file info of the song playing. Not sure if it does so prior to playing. I can check tomorrow. There is no real song selection with this. It's more suited as a shuffled playlist and you just get what you get, skip to the next if you don't want that song sort of thing.

Last edited by CoryM; 09-29-2016 at 09:43 PM.
CoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 01:18 AM   #14
ThinkPad
 
Drives: Yaris XP9 1.3 '06
Join Date: May 2016
Location: -
Posts: 33
Mine doesn't display MP3-tags... It shows up at the headunit just like a regular CD player; you see the folder (as a kind of disc changer), the tracknumber and the progress (minutes:seconds).

I used it this vacation again, not the USB but the 3.5mm aux wire. It worked, but a downside is that it isn't amplified very much or so. I need to set the radio really high (we talk about level 40 or so, where 10 is sufficient for FM). Would be nice if a resistor or so in the module could be replaced to take away this need to set the volume really high.
ThinkPad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 09:40 PM   #15
CoryM
 
Drives: 2009 5-door, 5-speed
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 687
Nevermind. Not sure what I was thinking of but mine only displays CD #, and track number.

The low AUX volume is why I wanted USB so badly. I already have AUX on my 09, but hate cranking the amp up so high.
CoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aux, usb, w58824, wt-usb

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 2006-2008 Yaris Stereo Wiring Harnesses, AUX Jack zerosktz Willing to Buy by private party 4 02-19-2011 02:41 PM
What are you doing right now? Bob_VT Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 27249 12-31-2010 10:48 AM
My radio dont work, HELP!!!! 20104dr In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 12 11-16-2010 11:18 PM
Standard FM radio does'nt work RickB In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 5 04-04-2009 06:03 AM
Which of These Car Companies Will Go Bust First? *MAD DOG* Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 23 11-16-2008 10:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.