Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Third Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Third Gen Yaris General Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2015, 03:52 PM   #1
ucsmfu
 
Drives: yaris le
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: vancouver, BC
Posts: 224
Disable DRL on 2012 Yaris Le

Just wondering if anyone has come across disabling their DRL on 2012 yaris le.

I have the Canadian model, so we have 1 dual H4 filament bulb that serves as DRL, low beam, and High beam.

I have done a projector retrofit in them and it's running H1 hids and with a H4 relay it's pretty much running the whole time.

Was wanting to disable the HIDs during DRL and then have them come on when I turn on the headlights.

If anyone has any ideas of inputs please let me know

thanks :)
ucsmfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 06:05 PM   #2
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,617
DRL box under driver side dash by the steering column just unplug it
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 07:43 PM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exiwolfman View Post
DRL box under driver side dash by the steering column just unplug it
Not on a 3rd gen. On it the DRL control is integrated into the body ECU and the relay it controls is within the 2nd under-hood fuse panel.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 08:21 PM   #4
Exiwolfman
 
Exiwolfman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wasaga beach
Posts: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Not on a 3rd gen. On it the DRL control is integrated into the body ECU and the relay it controls is within the 2nd under-hood fuse panel.
Yup, did not even see the yr in post lol

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
Exiwolfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 10:56 PM   #5
ucsmfu
 
Drives: yaris le
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: vancouver, BC
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Not on a 3rd gen. On it the DRL control is integrated into the body ECU and the relay it controls is within the 2nd under-hood fuse panel.
hello Scott,

so just remove the 2nd under-hood fuse and I should be good ?

Thanks
ucsmfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 06:09 AM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucsmfu View Post
hello Scott,

so just remove the 2nd under-hood fuse and I should be good ?

Thanks
No. It is far too integrated for a simple solution.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 10:28 AM   #7
edmscan
 
edmscan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS 3 Dr HB 5 Speed
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucsmfu View Post
Just wondering if anyone has come across disabling their DRL on 2012 yaris le.

I have the Canadian model, so we have 1 dual H4 filament bulb that serves as DRL, low beam, and High beam.

I have done a projector retrofit in them and it's running H1 hids and with a H4 relay it's pretty much running the whole time.

Was wanting to disable the HIDs during DRL and then have them come on when I turn on the headlights.

If anyone has any ideas of inputs please let me know

thanks :)
You do realize that in Canada .. it is illegal to disable your DRL's.

Not only illegal but really .. stupid as studies have shown that driving with them is very much safer.
__________________
edmscan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 10:29 AM   #8
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,924
I think it would be easier to reroute the headlights wires to a LED strip for DRL, and change stalk switch to activate a nee relay connected to the battery and have new wiring done for the headlights.



Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:44 PM   #9
ucsmfu
 
Drives: yaris le
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: vancouver, BC
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmscan View Post
You do realize that in Canada .. it is illegal to disable your DRL's.

Not only illegal but really .. stupid as studies have shown that driving with them is very much safer.
hey, yeah I know it's illegal, but I am planning to run the fogs as drl.

and I don't want the HIDS running 24/7 that's why if I can diable drl, run fogs and than evening time I can switch hids back on.
ucsmfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:48 PM   #10
ucsmfu
 
Drives: yaris le
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: vancouver, BC
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
I think it would be easier to reroute the headlights wires to a LED strip for DRL, and change stalk switch to activate a nee relay connected to the battery and have new wiring done for the headlights.



Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
I tried adding a led strip in the headlights but I don't really like the look of it ><

ucsmfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:49 PM   #11
ucsmfu
 
Drives: yaris le
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: vancouver, BC
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
No. It is far too integrated for a simple solution.
Would you recommend that I don't disable DRL, what other options do I have ?

Right now my Hids are running all day, as drl and as headlights :/
ucsmfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 06:14 PM   #12
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucsmfu View Post
Would you recommend that I don't disable DRL, what other options do I have ?

Right now my Hids are running all day, as drl and as headlights :/
I would have to do a bit more research on it. I think you can bypass them, but some wire cutting and possibly inserting a relay may be required.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 10:29 PM   #13
ucsmfu
 
Drives: yaris le
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: vancouver, BC
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
I would have to do a bit more research on it. I think you can bypass them, but some wire cutting and possibly inserting a relay may be required.
Alright no worries, thanks for the update Scott :)
ucsmfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you like the 2012 restyle? hitmoninfinity Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 106 04-14-2016 08:08 PM
What is it about the Yaris Ranger SVO General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 18 01-06-2015 09:45 PM
2012 Yaris at SEMA Jason@SportsCar Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 5 09-23-2013 03:55 AM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.