Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Old 09-04-2006, 03:43 PM   #1
Yar

Drives: 07 Bayou Blue Metallic
Amps, Subs, Bandpass...

Hey,

I'm a complete newbie to this, and have recently made the decision to scrap the factory Stereo unit in my 07 Yaris.

This would be the 1st time I've ever actually replaced a sound system in a car. I don't plan on installing anything, but im needing a bit of advice on how to properly do this.

A few friends of mine have recommended that I go out and get a "Bandpass Sub." They look great, and I from what I'm told, they do produce a very good loud thump. My worries are, it’s a little too big, for the back of my 2door Yaris.

Would you boys recommend a "Bandpass Sub?" Also, what would be a good amp for me to invest in?

Thanks

-Bill
Yar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 04:39 PM   #2
Spades
The Hated One

Drives: 07 White Manual Sedan
well, i wouldnt worry about size, i fit two 12s in the back of my yaris. however, sound quality is an issue. bandpass sub encosures do hit hard, but it isnt the cleanest sound out there...bandpass refers to the champered enclosure the subs sit in. if you want cool looks and cheap loud bang, get a bandpass...you want clarity and prescision, get a sealed box and some higher quality subs.
Old 09-04-2006, 05:12 PM   #3
Yar

From what I'm gathering, the "Jensen Dual 10" Subwoofer Bandpass System" is a good preformer, a good thump, and a very reasonable price.

Ya, it is a bandpass system, but I'm sorta growing attached to it.

-Bill
Old 09-04-2006, 06:18 PM   #4
plushDJ

Drives: 2007 3 dr manual
Jensen??? Well, seeing as it is your first setup it's ok but personally I wouldn't be caught dead with Jensen. Save money and go with a ported box. They're smaller and sound a crapload better
plushDJ is offline   Reply With Quote