Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Forced Induction Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 01-07-2015, 11:13 PM   #1
your_buddy_eliot

Drives: 2008 Toyota Yaris Sedan
What kind of compression should i be running on boost??

Hi guys, I'm new to YW and i was looking for some advice. So i've got an '08 Yaris sedan with about 63000 miles. Bone stock. bought the car from my sister before she moved away. I've decided i wanted to go boost after i hit about 115, and felt that the transmission could hold a lot more power (automatic). I already know what kit i have to run, and have downloaded all the "how to boost you're yaris" pdf's from here and all that semi-obvious stuff if you know what to look for when boosting. BUT what i want to know is will the yaris be able to hold boost with my kind of milage. I was thinking maybe it could hold no more then six pounds on factory internals, but I'm just pulling these numbers out of my ass really. All that has ever been put in the car is regular 87 octane. Second, i was reading up on the CP pistons and noticed they're 11.5:1 compression. My dream is to hold 17 pounds of boost, but from my knowledge of how turbo's work, that's just too high of a compression rating. I was aiming for 8.5:1 compression. If anyone can help me out with a set of pistons/rods that would fit this range, i'd really appreciate it
Old 01-08-2015, 04:29 AM   #2
ilikerice

Drives: 2010 black yaris