Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Old 07-24-2015, 08:39 PM   #1
MoneyT8

Drives: White Yaris Sedan
What is going on with my AUX input?

Hello, I just bought an AUX cable for my 2007 Yaris Sedan to use with my smartphone. I've never used the AUX port before but I found very useful. So I got it working for the first few times using it to play music from my phone than all of a sudden it would stop working. When I press the CD/AUX button it would not go to AUX mode. WTF? I tested my AUX cable on my laptop it worked fined so the cable is good. I was really disappointed.

What can I do to fix this? Maybe replace the AUX port? Buy a new aftermarket unit with an AUX port? I know that means I can't use the AUX port by Toyota.

Thanks in advance.
MoneyT8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 08:48 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE

Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
It is likely the aux port. Besides passing the audio signals it triggers a switch within the jack that tells the head unit to enable aux mode.
Old 07-25-2015, 01:25 AM   #3
MoneyT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
It is likely the aux port. Besides passing the audio signals it triggers a switch within the jack that tells the head unit to enable aux mode.
Any suggestions on fixing this issue? Is this a known issue with the Yaris?

Old 07-25-2015, 06:34 AM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoneyT8 View Post
Any suggestions on fixing this issue? Is this a known issue with the Yaris?

Not a common issue, but if you plug and unplug frequently, you simple wear out the contacts in the jack. The simplest fix is replacing the jack.
Old 07-25-2015, 09:18 AM   #5
MoneyT8

Quote:
Not a common issue, but if you plug and unplug frequently, you simple wear out the contacts in the jack. The simplest fix is replacing the jack.