Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Old 01-11-2020, 03:39 AM   #1
T Davids

Drives: T1 2006 Yaris
1kr-ne swap to 1nz-fe

Good day guys

Im a newbie to this forum and also a total newbie to car modification. I have a 2006 T1 Yaris and would like more power in my car. I am thinking of changing the 1kr-ne engine in my car to a 1nz-fe engine. Please tell me what is needed for the swap?
T Davids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:28 AM   #2
Dragonslayer182
Teal Squealer

Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan
As someone with a 1NZ-FE, just go straight for a 2ZZ if you can find one.
Dragonslayer182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 12:22 PM   #3
T Davids

I just want to upgrade to a 1.5 nz-fe. Can anyone else offer some assistance on this?
T Davids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 11:36 PM   #4
mitch9521
Gen 3 > Gen 2

Drives: NCP131, F-150
If you're a newbie at wrenching on cars, you'd honestly be better off just buying a Yaris with the 1NZ-FE already in it.

mitch9521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 05:46 AM   #5
T Davids

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch9521 View Post
If you're a newbie at wrenching on cars, you'd honestly be better off just buying a Yaris with the 1NZ-FE already in it.
I am interested in learning for myself. Before you do the actual work you first need to do research on the topic. I just wanted to know what parts need to change etc so I can work out a budget.
Old 01-16-2020, 08:40 AM   #6
Leegamer

Drives: No longer own a yaris :(
at the very least you will need engine, transmission (not sure which transmission the 1kr uses), ecu, engine accessories. Probably engine mounts
Old 01-16-2020, 11:41 AM   #7
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..

Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped