Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 09:17 AM   #1
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
vitz high idle problem after cleaning the throttle body.

hi im new here. im andy from malta :) . since i need help ....i serviced my vitz 2001 1.0 auto. so i decided to clean the throtle . i pulled it out from the engine u sprayed some carb cleaner to shiny metal. later i unsrewed the idle control valve from it and cleaned it to, replaced new gasket and put it back. i put the throttle back , fixed all vacumm pipes to ensure for no vacuum leaks.. started the engine and it idle good anough for 2 minutes, but later it started to built up revs...high as 2500 - 3000. i turned it off, disconnected the battery for ecu refresh but no luck, still high reving...later i disconnected the idle control valve from it. and it worked fine but surly it come on the check engine, cause off disconnect the iac. but as i connect it back again it rev highly again....please any one can help? never happened to me before.
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:21 PM   #2
Absolutely Red 12
Asshole
 
Absolutely Red 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 and 2013!
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Your moms house.
Posts: 392
You damaged the Idle Air Control Valve cleaning it.
__________________
Cheapest DD I could find!!
Absolutely Red 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:24 PM   #3
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
ouch...right now im cleaning it back with some wd 40 ...i thought maybe the carb cleaner wasnt good. are there any ideas how to check if he is work good??
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:44 PM   #4
Absolutely Red 12
Asshole
 
Absolutely Red 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 and 2013!
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Your moms house.
Posts: 392
You might do a search for Idle Air relearn.
See if that helps.
__________________
Cheapest DD I could find!!
Absolutely Red 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:11 PM   #5
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
hmmm sounds new to me.....thanks mate
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:23 PM   #6
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
i told that yaris will relearn automatical after disconnect the battery.
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 03:55 PM   #7
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
any one know how to test this iac? with multimeter or something?
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:15 PM   #8
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 4,367
I think the problem might be with the sensor. Apparently it is extremely sensitive and I've read warnings about this before.
Not sure if/how you can test it with a multimeter, though; you may want to ask our resident wizard CTScott for help in that area.
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 06:30 PM   #9
tooter
play every day
 
tooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Yaris L 2dr 5sp
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,962
I know this may sound silly... but did you make sure that all the hoses have been reconnected? I've had my throttle body off lots of times, and one time I forgot to reconnect one of the hoses and it had a fast erratic idle.
tooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 03:05 PM   #10
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
how can i message ct scott? im new here......yeah i checked all vacuum hoses...all connected...
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 03:30 PM   #11
suckerface
#1 Lemming
 
suckerface's Avatar
 
Drives: Light Blue '08 Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 764
If you messed with the Idle Set Screw, that could be what's causing the problem. I used a MAF cleaner on mine, and it caused zero issues. As long as you didn't make any contact with the wires, it should be fine. However, using WD40 on it may not have been the best idea... :shrug:

My bet is that CTScott will probably chime in soon and give his two cents. Otherwise, if you find a post by him, click on his name, which will take you to his profile, then click Private Message on the left side.
__________________
suckerface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:01 PM   #12
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
got no idle screw...just cleaned throotle....mechanic over here sucks!!! no one wants to help me out......
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:02 PM   #13
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
im mean in my country ;)
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:04 PM   #14
thefalls
 
Drives: Axio GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sunny place
Posts: 60
If you havent messed with anything and only cleaned the throttle body then it will settle down after you drive around a bit.
thefalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:27 PM   #15
Altitude
 
Altitude's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 LB MT Bayou
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,701
^^ I agree. This happened on my Jeep once after having to remove the TB to replace the exhaust header. After I put it all back together I suffered from high/erratic idle for a while. I refused to believe anything was broken (the recommendations in the Jeep forums was to replace the TPS.)

Cleaning the electrical contacts on the sensors seemed to help for a while, but ultimately it was time that cured it as the ECU eventually learned the new readings from the sensors.
Altitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:33 PM   #16
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 4,367
How long did you disconnect the battery for? You may want to try to disconnect it for a while longer to be sure that the ECU has been reset.
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:29 PM   #17
dindy
metallic green vitos
 
Drives: 2002 toyota vitz. 1.0 auto
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: malta
Posts: 67
Send a message via MSN to dindy
thanks for ur answeres. well it was disconnected for about 1 week, since i was waiting for my idle control valve gasket from toyota. ressambled every thing back..vacuum hoses ...throttle air cleaner....no leaks....start the engine with no trouble but later about 30 seconds the idle begans to rev high. and i shut it down immediatly.....never happened before i use to clean my throttle at least twice a year........ but u think that wd 40 or carb cleaner can damage the iac??
dindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:28 PM   #18
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,918
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
No idle screw? I thought all 1NZ throttles had that.

and WD40 to clean it? Not sure that's a good idea.
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1.8L throttle body dimensions drawing CrankyOldMan DIY / Maintenance / Service 5 03-09-2016 09:30 PM
1ZZ Throttle Body and Weapon R Filters bladesmith6 Items for Sale by private party 9 10-19-2011 05:41 PM
Throttle Body spacer? jekqmb Performance Modifications 2 10-04-2011 11:02 PM
Toyota Throttle Body Spacer: the Best Fuel-Saving Device davidmills Performance Modifications 1 07-01-2007 11:38 PM
toyotafest 2007 esquiva Photo-Video-Media Gallery 36 05-15-2007 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.