Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 02:14 AM   #1
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Dashboard Clock goes off?

Hi,
When I started the car this morning,the clock and BC indicator suddenly goes off.Anyone has idea what it could be??
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:36 AM   #2
jRoss
 
Drives: 2010 5spd sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 137
Try the knob to the left off the steering wheel, turn it til it clicks
jRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:40 AM   #3
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
What knob?There is only for the mirrors and headlights
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:42 AM   #4
jRoss
 
Drives: 2010 5spd sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 137
It's the like a spinny switch that adjusts the dimness of the gauge cluster, i believe it's right under the cup holder. I accidentally hit it one time and the clock light would go off when i turned on the headlights, i thought something was wrong. It took me taking it to autozone and a little experimenting.
jRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:54 AM   #5
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
Most of the European ones do not have a dimmer rheostat like our US ones do.

What year is the Yaris?

And, does it have the digital or analog instrument cluster?
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:22 AM   #6
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
The Year is 2006,and the cluster is digital.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:14 AM   #7
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
The Year is 2006,and the cluster is digital.
OK - So definitely no dimmer rheostat.

Check the 7.5A MET, 7.5A PANEL1, and 7.5A PANEL2 fuses all of which are in the fuse panel that is under the bottom of the dashboard.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:42 AM   #8
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
That is left under from the steering wheel,when I remove the panel,right?
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:46 AM   #9
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
That is left under from the steering wheel,when I remove the panel,right?
Yes - If your car is left hand drive it is to the left of the steering wheel and and it is under the bottom of the dash, so you look up from the floor to see the cover, which has the labels.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:12 AM   #10
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
That is the one that I have. I just disassembled mine and hooked it up on my test bench to experiment with it. The clock and odometer are a separate assembly from the rest of the instrument cluster. Does anything at all display on the clock area of yours?

European Cluster.jpg
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:37 PM   #11
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
No nothing.Did you find something that can be replaced,or behind that LCD is a small electronic board.Maybe there is a malfunction,somethin broken or burned?
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #12
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
No nothing.Did you find something that can be replaced,or behind that LCD is a small electronic board.Maybe there is a malfunction,somethin broken or burned?
The small LCD (which is actually a vacuum fluorescent display) for the clock and odometer is a separate assembly, so that could be replaced as it may be the bad part. There are three separate circuit boards - The large main on, the one that the speedometer display is mounted to, and the "Core" board, which snaps to the back of the large board. The Core board contains the primary processor for the cluster and it has the EEPROM where the odometer data is stored. Unfortunately you can't buy the boards separately from Toyota, but if you can track down one from a wrecked Yaris, which has a cluster with the same part number, then you can either swap the clock/odometer display onto yours or you can swap your core onto it.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:58 PM   #13
skoya
 
skoya's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 1.0L
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bosnia,Sa
Posts: 31
Yeah,but used clusters cost over 100$ on ebay,so it is a bit expensive.My dad is a electrician,so i wil disassemble the cluster and give him.Maybe he can find the problem.Anyway thank you for your response,i will notify you if i find something.
skoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:03 PM   #14
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoya View Post
Yeah,but used clusters cost over 100$ on ebay,so it is a bit expensive.My dad is a electrician,so i wil disassemble the cluster and give him.Maybe he can find the problem.Anyway thank you for your response,i will notify you if i find something.
It looks like there is one driver for both the small VFD and the large one, so my bet is that it is the VFD itself. I have a couple of right hand drive Japanese digital clusters that I pulled apart a while back. I noticed that the small VFD is identical between the JDM RHD one and the European LHD one. I swapped one of the JDM ones into the European cluster and it works fine. I have a couple of them, so if you want to try one let me know.

VFDs.jpg

JDM VFD.jpg
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 09:51 AM   #15
lespaulstd
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
I am facing the same issue and will try to replace the clock from a donor cluster. In order to test the "new" cluster, can somebody point me the pinout of the connectors to be able to switch it on and see if the clock works?

It is an European Yaris, and part-number is 83800-0D660


Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
That is the one that I have. I just disassembled mine and hooked it up on my test bench to experiment with it. The clock and odometer are a separate assembly from the rest of the instrument cluster. Does anything at all display on the clock area of yours?

Attachment 50263
Thanks in advance
lespaulstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 10:40 AM   #16
GTJos
I've made a post!
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 + CorollaVerso 2002
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Hi all !
Same problem (for over a year now...)
Happy to find this forum/threat. Are there any real solutions yet ? Thank's in advance !
GTJos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:27 AM   #17
lespaulstd
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lespaulstd View Post
I am facing the same issue and will try to replace the clock from a donor cluster. In order to test the "new" cluster, can somebody point me the pinout of the connectors to be able to switch it on and see if the clock works?

It is an European Yaris, and part-number is 83800-0D660




Thanks in advance
Searching this document from this post of CTScott I've been able to check that the donor cluster works.

It is only necessary to connect, pins 1 (12V) and 24 (GND) to power the unit outside of the vehicle. Now my plan is to swap the clock/temperature display of both units.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg index.jpeg (220.0 KB, 119 views)
lespaulstd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:39 PM   #18
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,474
That black spot does appear to be a normal part of how they manufacture the VFDs.

Since it is custom I can't find a data sheet for it. It would have been good if I could so that we could take some comparative measurements to determine if that is what is bad on yours.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GI: "YarGauge" replacement clock module (Digital Tach, etc.) CTScott Items for Sale by private party 756 03-21-2013 08:22 PM
05 Echo changing time on clock jambo101 DIY / Maintenance / Service 3 11-12-2011 04:34 AM
Dashboard mount for iPhone 4S? shima In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 10-25-2011 09:22 AM
Dashboard remove ... ALL of it Toji Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 7 02-26-2011 06:30 AM
Setting the clock after DST change ToddR DIY / Maintenance / Service 10 03-09-2009 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.