Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2006, 03:12 AM   #1
jodiem
 
Drives: Yaris 5D Hatch YRS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Question Trip Computer and External Temperature Display

My Yaris did not come with a trip computer or external temperature display but I have noticed that the display panel under the clock has space for all these features. is it possible to activate these? is it something that can be done aftermarket or will the dealer have to do it?

Thanks
jodiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 09:48 AM   #2
Lafiro
 
Drives: 06 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 694
Send a message via AIM to Lafiro
I never knew this was EVER even an option. Trip computer, as in the odometer for trip a/b should be standard for any car. But as for external temp display..... I want that too!!! And hell yeah it would be hot to see that on the display panel.
Lafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 10:01 AM   #3
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,744
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo
Certainly does not seem like an option here either, neither do the technical manuals in the DIY section mention anything similar!
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 02:30 AM   #4
as400g33k
 
as400g33k's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 YRS Silver Lining Metallic
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by jodiem
My Yaris did not come with a trip computer or external temperature display but I have noticed that the display panel under the clock has space for all these features. is it possible to activate these? is it something that can be done aftermarket or will the dealer have to do it?

Thanks
Noticed that too. It looks like the circuitry is there, just wonder if at it needs is just the actual computer itself.
as400g33k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 07:05 AM   #5
paultyler_82
 
Drives: 07 Meteorite Metallic Yaris LB
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 441
If you're talking about the Trip A/B odometers... they're integrated into the main odometer... press the little button to switch between them... I don't think external temp is an option on em though. I'm confused as to what you're referring to exactly though... maybe if you have different gauges than us, you don't have them? Do you have a picture of the space you're referring to?
paultyler_82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 05:15 PM   #6
SmellyTofu
好多人&
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 264
That is a LHD European dash (UK drive have RHD) but yes we have a similar cluster but each component on the opposite side to the one pictured above however we don't get the trip computer nor outside temperature read out functioning (but there seems to be provisions for this on the cluster).
SmellyTofu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 04:09 AM   #7
paultyler_82
 
Drives: 07 Meteorite Metallic Yaris LB
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 441
I would say if the display appears to be there, there's probably a way to make it work... This is why I would reallly love to have full US, UK, French, German, and Japanese Yaris exploded parts references, make it easier to figure out what part numbers do what. incidentally, I recently saw a US exploded parts diagram for the front bumper cover and they had 2 parts shown that aren't even availiable here, to my knowledge, the "RS" grille logo and the mesh grille insert for the lower fascia opening!
paultyler_82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 10:22 AM   #8
Black Yaris
der Zeck
 
Black Yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 Audi A4 1.8t quattro
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 5,231
I do like the UKDM cluster the best of all the ones I have seen so far, plus you can switch from MPH to KPH with the touch of a button, very helpful for those of us who drive internationally...
__________________
Black Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 01:34 PM   #9
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,744
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo
oooo pretty...

Still, digital displays are nice, but there's nothing quite like seeing a little red needle go round and stretching to the maximum it can reach...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 01:49 PM   #10
parbrook
 
Drives: Yaris T-Spirit MMT
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11
UK Trip Computer

The UK Yaris has two buttons.
One on the right for Odometer, Trip A and Trip B.
One on the left for outside temperature, average speed, average miles per gallon, current miles per gallon and clock setting.
The trip computer resets every time fuel is added to the tank (or the tank is filled - not sure if it's either or both).
parbrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 07:40 PM   #11
Yaris-TJ
 
Yaris-TJ's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan ST Barcelona Red
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tijuana, Mexico
Posts: 84
COOL!

Quote:
Originally Posted by echo_hrs
Australian Yaris has a different all digital cluster, digital speedo...

(UK one shown here)


Cheers
Do you guys think this will be ever be available in the US, and that I can be installed with the current wiring? This looks great! and it's worth to spent 200~300 dls...
Yaris-TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 06:56 AM   #12
paultyler_82
 
Drives: 07 Meteorite Metallic Yaris LB
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 441
Well, it's been proven now that the US and CAN gauges are direct swaps, so I can't imagine that the Euro units arent too.
paultyler_82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 09:31 AM   #13
grimez
 
grimez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 118
Holy crap! I would pay to get that cluster in my dash! I guess only if it retained it's functionality though. Anyone know if it's possible to oder this cluster over in the great land of the UK and get it shipped to the US?
grimez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:59 AM   #14
Violin
 
Violin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris LB Auto
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,592
It reads in kilometers.
Violin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 12:27 PM   #15
parbrook
 
Drives: Yaris T-Spirit MMT
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violin
It reads in kilometers.
or Miles - it's selectable.

Note that the the MPG (miles per gallon) indication will not be correct for the US as you have a different gallon to ours.
parbrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 01:08 PM   #16
grimez
 
grimez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 118
psh, if i really cared enough about MPG, i would calculate the difference(I'm an engineer, all i do is calculate).
grimez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 06:33 PM   #17
grimez
 
grimez's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 118
Upon closer inspection, I don't quite understand all of the guages on the digital cluster. Can anyone help me out?

grimez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 06:46 PM   #18
Yaris-TJ
 
Yaris-TJ's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan ST Barcelona Red
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tijuana, Mexico
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimez
Upon closer inspection, I don't quite understand all of the guages on the digital cluster. Can anyone help me out?

My guess is that
left ? = is the RPM bar that fills up depending on your current RPM
Right ? = is the 1x1000 RPM, 2x1000 RPM.... 6x1000RPM notation....

I hope this makes sense...
Yaris-TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.