Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009, 08:28 AM   #1
schleppy
I love momentum.
 
schleppy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris LB, Red
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to schleppy
2009 empty, usable fuse location?

I am currently using an "add a fuse" to power my tachometer, using the fuse location for the cigarette lighter. For some reason, even with both fuses installed in the "add a fuse" the cigarette lighter won't work.

Does anyone know if any of the other open fuses locations in the interior fuse box are active and ignition switched? If not I may just tap off the stereo wiring.

Thanks!
schleppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 09:20 AM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,477
I haven't found any open fuse spots. Sounds like you received a faulty add-a-fuse. since your tach doesn't draw significant current, you could just tap into the wire for the lighter.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 10:04 AM   #3
schleppy
I love momentum.
 
schleppy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris LB, Red
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to schleppy
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
I haven't found any open fuse spots. Sounds like you received a faulty add-a-fuse. since your tach doesn't draw significant current, you could just tap into the wire for the lighter.
That is a good possibility. The mini fuses that are installed in the yaris look a lot different than the mini fuses that came in the kit.

Now that the weather has improved I'll take it all out and re-evaluate.
schleppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:07 PM   #4
WolfWings
 
WolfWings's Avatar
 
Drives: Silver 2007 3Dr - Gryph
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 310
There's actually quite a few empty fuse spots on the master fuse block behind the drivers-side dash area, the problem is getting the main fuse block detached to access the plugs on the rear to wire up the 'far side' of those unused fuse slots basically requires taking out the entire dash, AND the steering column near as I can tell.
__________________
WolfWings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.