Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 03-18-2021, 02:07 AM   #1
3lbtrigger

Drives: 2009 Yaris 3door (free)
How I acquired my "Deer Smear" Yaris

Hello everyone. I'm a recently new Yaris owner. Not at all new to Toyota though. I'm a 12 year veteran Toyota MDT in West Texas. I never thought I'd ever own one, but I'm going to roll with it

I had a customer driving cross country in his 09 3door 2 weeks ago and he ran OVER a deer. Lined it up straight down the middle. Bent the lower radiator support up and back, the radiator and condenser are both bent at the bottom, broke the signal wire receptacle on the starter, and left one hell of a mess under the car. TONS of hair, blood, meat, and I'm guessing a little excrement. Didn't seem to damage anything else amazingly.

He was adamant he needed to continue his drive that day. While I'm no body guy and no parts in stock to fix his car, I advised him to trade it in as there was nothing I could do that day. I sent him up front to the sales office and he bought a used car.

Come to find out, our sales manager wasn't offering anything in trade value for the Yaris and the vehicle was left out of the car deal and was left at the dealership. The guy left in his new car. I parked the car as far away as I could so the rotting flesh odor wouldn't be within nose range. I figured, once the smell goes away, we could use it as a shop car to pull other cars in and out that were inoperable.

Fast forward to Monday 03/15/21 and the sales manager came and offered me the title! The SOB sent in his title once he got home! The funny thing is, I got the hour diagnostic for looking at it, I got $100 for the referral, and now I have the title! He essentially paid me to take the car.