Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Regional Forums > Great Lakes
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2011, 10:39 PM   #1
Yaris2go
 
Drives: Black 2008 Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 4
Tire pressure sensors

I recently replaced the steel wheels on my 2008 Yaris with factory alloy

wheels. The tire pressure sensors that I bought (eBay) aren't working

properly, not being read by the car's computer when it was mapped.

Tire tech said something about having bad batteries in the sensors?

Any ideas or suggestions about the best way to correct this and get the

light on the dash to shut off? Does anyone have a set of 4 that work

they'd like to sell?
Yaris2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 05:16 PM   #2
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,063
These sensors run on batteries? Whats the service life?
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:20 PM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
The sensors do have a non-replaceable battery that is rated for 10 years under normal operating conditions.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:55 PM   #4
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,063
Does the sensor constantly transmit, or is wheel rotation required to energize it?
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:04 AM   #5
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by auxmike View Post
Does the sensor constantly transmit, or is wheel rotation required to energize it?
It transmits intermittently at a regular interval, but it transmits more frequently when it sees a problem (like no pressure), so having ones outside of the tires kills the battery quicker. When they are new they are shipped in a sleep mode (to maintain the shelf life), and once installed they are brought out of that mode.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 OEM YARIS TIRE PRESSURE SENSORS FOR SALE mehullica Items for Sale by private party 13 04-13-2011 11:06 PM
NEED ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CODE LIST Attitude Forced Induction Forum 12 04-11-2011 06:38 PM
NITROGEN GAS TIRE FILL: WORTH IT? EjDaPogi Middle East 15 03-20-2011 02:06 AM
Tire pressure sensors ztlonewolf DIY / Maintenance / Service 14 04-25-2009 05:19 PM
The Tire inflation debate... Tankota General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 20 06-01-2006 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.