Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 02-24-2006, 11:47 AM   #1
Ryu

Drives: Copper Orange Mica Yaris
Oil change question

I have this question about oil change in my mind.
Toyota recommend every 6 month/8000km for the oil change for Yaris, but it seems a bit long to me, will it hurt the engine if I change it every 8000 km, or should I change it like every 5000km or 6000km?

Need some expert to give me some advises on it
Ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 11:53 AM   #2
Schmingie

Drives: 06 Yaris LE 5dr
I am by no means an expert. I do however work for Toyota in Parts and I don't buy into 8000km oil changes. I drive my vehicles 500,000 km or until they wear out, which seems to be around that figure. I change my oil every 4000km.
Oil changes are such cheap insurance on keeping your vehicle running.

This is only an opinion and should by no means be taken as fact.

S.
Schmingie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 01:16 PM   #3
AutoTech1

Drives: None yet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu
Toyota recommend every 6 month/8000km for the oil change for Yaris, but it seems a bit long to me, will it hurt the engine if I change it every 8000 km, or should I change it like every 5000km or 6000km?

You probably would be safe if you did stay until 8000. Toyota knows what it's talking about... It would not mislead consumers, because it'd come back to them and bite them in the ass.

The earlier you change your oil, the longer your engine will live... As oil life increases, it doesn't protect as well... It starts to sludge up... Blow by gases start to make it's way into the oil sump... And even oil gets into the combustion chamber and is wasted there (not extremely large amounts though). So you get the picture...

Last edited by AutoTech1; 02-24-2006 at 01:29 PM.
AutoTech1 is offline   Reply With Quote