Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Old 02-26-2013, 02:25 AM   #1
arnoldod

Drives: Toyota Yaris S
Recommended After Market Shocks/Struts - Tokico HP & HTS is not available in Country

Hi All,

I am a newbie from Indonesia, who just recently lured to learn more about Yaris suspension and interested to change my Yaris (NCP91) shocks/struts and spring.

After reading the most of the threads about aftermarket shocks/springs replacement to improve handling, I come to a conclusion that the best way for me to maintain a balance of good ride and handling without cutting much of shocks/struts lifecycle when using aftermarket spring is to also replace the OEM shocks/struts with the aftermarket springs.

My spring of choice is Eibach Pro Kit as it does not lowered my car too low.

However, I have not found a good aftermarket shocks to pair with Eibach Pro Kit. I would love to have Tockico HP or HTS but Tokico performance products are not available for Yaris in my country and importing from overseas is not an option considering the shipment cost plus very high tax on products that priced more than USD 250.

Aftermarket shocks/struts that widely available in my country for Yaris are:
1. Kayaba Excel-G
2. Hotbits
3. Tokico (Parts#: B3239 Front Left, B3240 Front Right, E 2981 Rear)
4. Monroe Reflex

Coilover is not my option because I only need the balance of good ride & handling but better than the stock quality.

TRD suspension will keep me from replacing my suspensions for the next 1-2 months because Toyota does not keep TRD suspensions in stock in Indonesia at this time. Therefore, we have to place a special order for the TRD parts.

Koni shocks/struts is very rare in Indonesia. I have tried to reach the distributors this whole week but I have not received any responses from them.