Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 09:14 AM   #1
llama
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 1.0 T3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 13
Question New stereo for Yaris 2004 query.

Ive got a 1.4 D4-D yaris and id like to change the stereo however i cant find any new fascias for my model (2004)

Does anyone know from where i could purchase one? its very similar to the one below however theres a small cash box on the bottom left and the cigarette lighter is on the right:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TOYOTA-YARIS-C...item2c51864276

i could simply install a new stereo in the bottom try however i think it would look stupid having 2 stereos on top of each other!! i would like my stereo looks like the one below (mine is exactly like this one, except the stock stereo is installed instead):

http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/foru...1104417266.jpg

Thanks!!

Llama :D
llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 02:50 PM   #2
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,889
it's kinda hard to find that part in other countries as this model came with integrated radios and was not sold in USA.


anyhow.. this will fit your vehicle..

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Car-R...fAudioQ5fVideo
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 03:00 PM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Take a look at the following thread:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...ighlight=radio
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:26 PM   #4
llama
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 1.0 T3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 13
ok thanks :D
llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 01:03 PM   #5
llama
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 1.0 T3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 13
however is the link i sent (1st one) enough? and would i need the ISO adapter?
llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 02:13 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama View Post
however is the link i sent (1st one) enough? and would i need the ISO adapter?
I can't tell from the picture in your 1st link if the radio hole is the correct width for an aftermarket radio or if the ISO adapter would be required to make fill the gap on the sides of the radio.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:49 AM   #7
llama
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 1.0 T3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
I can't tell from the picture in your 1st link if the radio hole is the correct width for an aftermarket radio or if the ISO adapter would be required to make fill the gap on the sides of the radio.
The aftermarket stereo will fit in for sure. what id like to know is:
  • After buying this could i just slip in my aftermarket stereo
  • Do i need the ISO adapter (as far as i know its that cable that u use to connect the stock wires to connect and aftermarket stereo)

Thanks again :)
llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 02:04 PM   #8
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,889
you do not need the iso mount for the dash kit i showed you. It has screw holes and should fit just right in.
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 04:04 PM   #9
llama
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 1.0 T3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
you do not need the iso mount for the dash kit i showed you. It has screw holes and should fit just right in.
Yes however i dont think it would fit. see my stereo looks somewhat like this one:

http://www.fitaudio.com/storedimages.../headunit1.jpg

a newer version, though it seems its extremely similar! so ders no way u cud fit that in because theres the old stereo blocking it and even if u pulled it out i would look really bare wudnt it?
llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 04:28 PM   #10
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama View Post
Yes however i dont think it would fit. see my stereo looks somewhat like this one:

http://www.fitaudio.com/storedimages.../headunit1.jpg

a newer version, though it seems its extremely similar! so ders no way u cud fit that in because theres the old stereo blocking it and even if u pulled it out i would look really bare wudnt it?
You definitely need the replacement face piece for the dash (like the one in your first post). The question is if the replacement piece has an opening that is 180mm wide (standard DIN radio width) or 200mm (a wider width common with non-integrated Toyota radios). If the replacement trim piece has a 180mm wide opening, then that and the wiring adapter is all you need. If the replacement trim piece has a 200mm wide opening, then you also need a kit that adapts the opening to the correct width for an aftermarket radio.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 04:44 PM   #11
llama
 
Drives: Yaris 2006 1.0 T3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
You definitely need the replacement face piece for the dash (like the one in your first post). The question is if the replacement piece has an opening that is 180mm wide (standard DIN radio width) or 200mm (a wider width common with non-integrated Toyota radios). If the replacement trim piece has a 180mm wide opening, then that and the wiring adapter is all you need. If the replacement trim piece has a 200mm wide opening, then you also need a kit that adapts the opening to the correct width for an aftermarket radio.
Thanks a lot then :)
llama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:36 PM   #12
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,889
cept that replacement face piece for the dash is impossible to find, at least, that i know of, in Europe.
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aftermarket, fascia, new to forum, stereo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown Fuse - Stereo !?! click.mine In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 16 10-05-2017 09:35 AM
Stereo Upgrades....what to do!? gravylegs In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 39 02-28-2010 01:58 PM
FS: Bluetooth Stereo Headphones and Ipod Transmittor Sabretooth Items for Sale by private party 3 05-06-2009 06:59 AM
toyota vitz 2004 Fraz In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 12-18-2006 03:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.