Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2016, 10:46 AM   #1
Tinkerman
 
Drives: Yaris 5 speed
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 37
How to delete TPMS?

As the title say. Does anybody know how?
I found this to be a PITA when one of the sensors doesn't work, it's costly to have them replaced.
Tinkerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 10:58 AM   #2
Tinkerman
 
Drives: Yaris 5 speed
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 37
Never mind. Found a solution.

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11058
Tinkerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 04:10 PM   #3
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,321
That's the one. ;)
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 01:46 PM   #4
Deathegg
 
Deathegg's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris hatch
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 133
I'm not a fan of much of the electronic 'safety' items that are on modern cars, but the TPMS is one that I like having around.
__________________
"I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past" - Patrick Henry
Deathegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:42 PM   #5
Tinkerman
 
Drives: Yaris 5 speed
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathegg View Post
I'm not a fan of much of the electronic 'safety' items that are on modern cars, but the TPMS is one that I like having around.
Me too except when it doesn't work then you have to pay the dealer 90 bucks to them re-teach???
Tinkerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 12:20 PM   #6
Tinkerman
 
Drives: Yaris 5 speed
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 37
Done!

Here are some pics.

Remove glove compartment.
Find and remove the connector.
Cut the brown wire about 2.5" from connector.
Crimp the top portion of the brown wire to the white wire as per picture.

Enjoy!
No more damn TPMS BS!



Attached Images
  
Tinkerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 01:39 PM   #7
kimona
Super Moderator
 
kimona's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 White VITZ
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Huntington Bch, CA
Posts: 4,961
That looks like a very simple fix!

My TPMS sensors have been sitting on a shelf in my garage since I bought my 2014. Yes, the TPMS dash light is on, but it doesn't bother me at all.
kimona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 01:54 PM   #8
Tinkerman
 
Drives: Yaris 5 speed
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimona View Post
That looks like a very simple fix!

My TPMS sensors have been sitting on a shelf in my garage since I bought my 2014. Yes, the TPMS dash light is on, but it doesn't bother me at all.

Yes it is, very simple. I cant take credit for it though. Someday it will bother you.
Tinkerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS Issues After Wheel Swap pulsar2121 Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack 4 07-07-2015 05:38 PM
TPMS questions NEexpat Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack 2 08-02-2013 05:18 PM
DIY - - -TPMS work around rningonfumes DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 03-03-2011 08:11 PM
tpms compatibility? bwong2 Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack 8 07-11-2009 09:33 AM
TPMS Gauges - do they exist? Sodium Duck DIY / Maintenance / Service 24 03-01-2009 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.