Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2020, 08:46 PM   #1
sacklunchz
 
Drives: 07 yaris
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 11
Speed sensor woes

Hey all,
I have 2 codes:
C0205 - front left speed sensor
C0210 - rear right speed sensor

I'm certain I caused the problem, since these codes came on (via ABS light) right after installing new springs/shocks on my 07 sedan.

I've searched the forum here, but I am unclear on whether I can simply swap out the speed sensors themselves. I see them for relatively cheap on rockauto - about 12 bucks each (from a wholesaler). But I also am seeing references to the rear sensor being part of the rear hub assembly.

Any thoughts? Thanks :)
sacklunchz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 11:31 AM   #2
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,211
Could be that you damaged the ABS sensor wires when you dropped the knuckles/rear beam. They're pretty sensitive to pulling. I've broken a front sensor wire when pulling an engine before. Not fun to replace because you have to remove the fender to get at all the attachment points. The rear sensors are indeed integrated into the hub. Not an easy task either way if you don't have the right tools. The rear wires are easier to access but the connector has a secondary locking cover that's a pain to access. You can probably see it on the new axle if they cut the ABS wires.
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 02:07 PM   #3
01lexpl
 
Drives: 07 sedan
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
The amount of dicking around, and no guarantee that the 12$ speed sensor is good, vs. the 50$ hub assy. is not worth it.

I did this two weeks ago on my GF's Yaris... One sensor was intermittent, the other was shot. I ended up buying the complete hubs from Rockauto instead of sensors and the time to disassemble (canadian car + salt = nope), and to save headaches...

The labor time vs. saving a couple bucks on the whole assy. is not worth it.

Edit; I'm referring to the *REAR SENSORS* only, don't know about the fronts.
01lexpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 02:27 PM   #4
Mister
 
Drives: Yaris T1
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: South Africa
Posts: 24
When I had shocks replaced at these shock absorber places here:

https://www.supaquick.com/

... the buffoon ruined my sensor because he didnt unplug it before dropping the old shock out. This was the front shocks.

I had to buy a new OEM speed sensor to make the problem go away.
Mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on Radiator/AC Condenser fan speed rayfloyd170 Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 3 08-11-2020 08:44 PM
DIY Cruise Control for 2012 Yaris - Good News! CTScott Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 300 08-31-2019 07:06 AM
The most economical speed for the Yaris. Ilovemyyaris Fuel Economy Forum 3 03-19-2012 12:33 PM
NEED ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CODE LIST Attitude Forced Induction Forum 12 04-11-2011 07:38 PM
Cold Idle Speed Question... cpnnz DIY / Maintenance / Service 9 11-04-2009 06:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.