Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2012, 09:26 AM   #19
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
My srs light is on after a big rain. I checked the code and it's " 14 ". What can i do to resolve this problem. Thanks
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 09:30 AM   #20
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrjoe View Post
My srs light is on after a big rain. I checked the code and it's " 14 ". What can i do to resolve this problem. Thanks

That's a new one - "Front Airbag Sensor LH"

That would be the sensor mounted to the left side of the radiator frame that detects the impact. You will have to pull the front bumper to get at it. It has a connector that plugs into it, so the first thing I would check is if moisture got into the connector.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:38 AM   #21
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
to unplug the connector on the senso i will have to pull the front bumper ????? It is a big job??? And how can i do that. They dont have an other option to unplug it from the top. I know where is the sensor, i see it from the top but i cant see the connector.
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:04 AM   #22
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrjoe View Post
to unplug the connector on the senso i will have to pull the front bumper ????? It is a big job??? And how can i do that. They dont have an other option to unplug it from the top. I know where is the sensor, i see it from the top but i cant see the connector.
You don't have to completely remove the bumper, but you have to pop the top of the bumper to get to them. That just means releasing the 5 clips along the hood edge and two in the front edge of the wheel wells (which you do by pressing in the center and then pulling the whole plastic clip out) and releasing the bumper clip, where the bumper meets the fender.

This is what the sensor looks like. You will have to remove the two bolts and pull it out of its channel to unplug the connector.'

Airbag sensor.jpg


__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:22 AM   #23
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
thank you, your the king. I will check the connector and i will come back after.
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 01:37 PM   #24
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
i try to reset the srs ecu but i cant. That's, what i did: short the 2 pins, srs light began give me code, open the short 3 sec, short 3 sec, open 3 sec, short 3 sec, open 3 sec and short. After that, the light gave me again the code 14. Why ?????. Is that a good procedure for yaris 2007??
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 01:42 PM   #25
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrjoe View Post
i try to reset the srs ecu but i cant. That's, what i did: short the 2 pins, srs light began give me code, open the short 3 sec, short 3 sec, open 3 sec, short 3 sec, open 3 sec and short. After that, the light gave me again the code 14. Why ?????. Is that a good procedure for yaris 2007??
The procedure is good, so if it won't reset, chances are that the sensor is bad. To verify, you can swap the right and left (as they are identical parts) and the code should change.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 01:56 PM   #26
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
Is it dangerous to change sensor. I dont want the airbag blow out.
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 02:16 PM   #27
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrjoe View Post
Is it dangerous to change sensor. I dont want the airbag blow out.
Just disconnect the battery before doing so. Other than that there are no issues with swapping them.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:10 PM   #28
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
i switch the 2 sensors and the problem now is in the right side, so it's the sensor the problem. So now, where i can buy the sensor on internet.

front airbag sensor Part number: 89173-04010.

Thanks!!!!
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:18 PM   #29
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrjoe View Post
i switch the 2 sensors and the problem now is in the right side, so it's the sensor the problem. So now, where i can buy the sensor on internet.

front airbag sensor Part number: 89173-04010.

Thanks!!!!
They run about $70 plus shipping from the online parts places. I have a spare that I picked up a while ago that I could do for $40 shipped.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:34 PM   #30
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
it is a new one or a used??? And you are shure that it work. And can can i pay you. Come online to chat with you.
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:41 PM   #31
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrjoe View Post
it is a new one or a used??? And you are shure that it work. And can can i pay you. Come online to chat with you.
It's a new one that I picked up because I thought I would need to replace the one that I posted the picture of above. It actually turned out to be fine, even though I had to bend the radiator frame away from it to get it off of the damaged frame.

I can take paypal for payment. I'll PM you.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:46 PM   #32
frambach
 
Drives: 2008 Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 56
Well, I've been jammed up on the DS Airbag light too. Mine is a 2008 Liftback with just a shade over 90k miles.

I'll try reading the codes but can just about assure you its the clock spring/spiral cable as it only comes on intermittently and usually when going around a turn.

Has anyone found a cheap OEM one anywhere? Seems like as much trouble as everyone's having maybe a new OEM has been revised to last longer.
frambach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:50 PM   #33
frambach
 
Drives: 2008 Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 56
Just checked the two closest 'yards' for Yaris bones and neither have one.

BTW, CTScott, you are very knowledgable and a great help. I don't post here much but that doesn't mean I don't lurk here quite a bit and glean out information for my car maintenance. Thumbs up to you.
frambach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:43 PM   #34
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
It doesn't have to be a Yaris one.

2007-2009 Highlander and 2006-2008 RAV4 used the same one. (Part number: 84306-22010)
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:16 PM   #35
cybrjoe
 
Drives: Yaris 07
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terrebonne
Posts: 9
Thank you CTScott, i installed your sensor and it work perfectly. Thanks again !!!!!!
cybrjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:51 AM   #36
jobob
 
Drives: 2008 sedan
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 4
question on resetting air bag

I am nervous about trying this. Is there a chance to short the wrong terminals and set off the air bag ? Do I have to connect the airbags before resetting this module using this procedure ?
jobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
airbag

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY (08' USDM Liftback): ESUSE Fog Light Install v2.0 goku87 DIY / Maintenance / Service 127 02-19-2023 07:01 PM
Help! Airbag light issue Astroman DIY / Maintenance / Service 24 05-18-2019 12:35 PM
How many forum posters does it take to change a light bulb? silver_echo Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 25 06-27-2011 01:50 AM
passenger airbag light problem (NOT stuck on) ersheff General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 3 10-12-2010 08:20 AM
LED'n it out (warning...big pics) custom Lftback Photo-Video-Media Gallery 9 05-24-2010 03:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.