Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2021, 03:22 PM   #1
Dec24th
 
Drives: '10 Yaris 3 door HB
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: JC, New Jersey
Posts: 46
One headlight working, but both works in HighBeam?

What could be the cause?
Any help would be great!
__________________
Aa
Dec24th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 04:29 PM   #2
WeeYari
 
WeeYari's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,491
It's a dual filament bulb. One filament in the light not working is burnt out.
__________________
WeeYari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 05:24 PM   #3
kevinj93
 
kevinj93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 NCP130
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 332
Almost certainly a burnt out globe, as WeeYari wrote.

Unless funds are tight, I recommend replacing both globes. Most parts places sell globes packaged as pairs, or sell cheap (low quality) single globes. Buy a pair, replace both, and keep the still working globe as an emergency spare.
__________________
Running on standard AU 14" steel wheels (14x5 rims, 175/70R14 tyres). Added reversing camera and touch screen radio, cruise control, 16" rear wiper blade, tow bar and dash cam.
kevinj93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 05:35 PM   #4
WeeYari
 
WeeYari's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,491
Now you get to find out what a pain in the ass replacing the headlight bulb on the HB is.
__________________
WeeYari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 10:21 PM   #5
sgtpimienta
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 2
Same thing always happens to me. One is out but they still work with the high beams on. Just replaced both headlight bulbs for the first time ever (I always had someone else do it for me) and it's actually not that terrible. Yes, it's annoying that you have to pull out the bumper but I did it in 45 minutes!
sgtpimienta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 10:32 PM   #6
Dec24th
 
Drives: '10 Yaris 3 door HB
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: JC, New Jersey
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtpimienta View Post
Same thing always happens to me. One is out but they still work with the high beams on. Just replaced both headlight bulbs for the first time ever (I always had someone else do it for me) and it's actually not that terrible. Yes, it's annoying that you have to pull out the bumper but I did it in 45 minutes!
I bought these a while ago on ebay, I haven't installed them yet. The listing is no longer available but, the item was "2 Bulbs H4 HB2 9003 LED Headlight Kit Combo 2600W 398000LM High Low Beam 6000K "

I guess I'll install them very soon!

Any good DIY videos on how to replace the bulbs?
__________________
Aa
Dec24th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Start Keyless Entry Unlock Not Working XDleader555 DIY / Maintenance / Service 0 01-28-2018 06:05 PM
Toyota Yaris 2009 headlight beam shakes and is misaligned tamrat General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 3 03-16-2017 02:42 PM
Headlight Mystery Saga forsair DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 01-29-2017 07:33 AM
Remote alarm not working kropekoi In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 2 01-15-2013 10:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.