Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 10:39 PM   #1
Yaris2006RS
 
Yaris2006RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris RS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 27
Intake Size!

Im wondering how big my intake size his on my 2006 yaris! Anyone have any idea!
Im wondering if this his the size.. 2.5" ~ 3.0" (65mm~75mm)
Yaris2006RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:07 PM   #2
BEEF
 
BEEF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 3d
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: north carolina
Posts: 732
I have a 2008 yaris (US) and here is my intake box at the MAF sensor. I assume you have the same 1.5 liter (1NZ-FE) engine.

it is ~2.25 inches and just under 60mm (I'd say around 58 or so) though the metric picture came out like crap. the size at the MAF is very important for the ECU.

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world -Mahatma Gandhi-
BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:44 AM   #3
Yaris2006RS
 
Yaris2006RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris RS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 27
thanks man!
Yaris2006RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:06 PM   #4
tooter
play every day
 
tooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Yaris L 2dr 5sp
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,962
The measurment in the pic is slightly larger the actual diameter because it's at the expanded flange. The intake diameter at the MAF sensor is 2 inches. You can put anything else on either side of the sensor section...



...as long as right where the air passes through the sensor remains 2 inches.
tooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:16 PM   #5
BEEF
 
BEEF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 3d
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: north carolina
Posts: 732
Thanks tooter.

it was a very impromptu picture and I definitely don't want to tell someone wrong.

I have a pair of calipers at work that will do depth measurements, but they were at work.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world -Mahatma Gandhi-
BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:22 PM   #6
WeeYari
 
WeeYari's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooter View Post
...as long as right where the air passes through the sensor remains 2 inches.
2.25" is stock, and is pretty much gospel to be the max. You can deviate under, but very rare is there any success going over 2.25".
__________________
WeeYari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 03:22 PM   #7
tooter
play every day
 
tooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Yaris L 2dr 5sp
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,962
I measured my stock air box and the two aftermarket intakes and they're all 2 inches at the sensor. The area in front of the sensor commonly increases to 2 1/4.

Intrestingly, this Injen appears to be larger than 2 inches at the sensor because it gets smaller between the sensor and the throttle body...




...although some intakes flare back out right at the coupling. My Simota intake tube is like that and needed a reducer to make it fit the stock throttle body...




The area in front of the Injen sensor looks to be at least 2 1/2 or even larger.

Last edited by tooter; 03-13-2013 at 03:36 PM.
tooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 07:31 PM   #8
7:34pm
 
Drives: 07 Yaris
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooter View Post
The measurment in the pic is slightly larger the actual diameter because it's at the expanded flange. The intake diameter at the MAF sensor is 2 inches. You can put anything else on either side of the sensor section...



...as long as right where the air passes through the sensor remains 2 inches.
ot: where can one get an aluminum pipe like that with the sensor adapter? I want to build my own intake.
7:34pm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:04 PM   #9
tooter
play every day
 
tooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Yaris L 2dr 5sp
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7:34pm View Post
ot: where can one get an aluminum pipe like that with the sensor adapter? I want to build my own intake.
I bought the cheapest Weapon R intake I could find on ebay (about $160 at that time) There's one for sale now at $152 and free shipping. Then I sold off the foam filter, and hacked up the pipe so that I'd have the freedom to put anything in front of it that I wanted...

tooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:02 PM   #10
hw6515
 
Drives: 08 Yaris AT, 350Z GT MT
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: U.S
Posts: 70
Have u look on eBay?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SUBARU-3-00-...47789a&vxp=mtr
hw6515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:21 PM   #11
BEEF
 
BEEF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 3d
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: north carolina
Posts: 732
That one is 3" and will make the yaris have all sorts of issues. you could buy a knock off yaris intake from ebay and hope it is the right diameter.

the ECU on the yaris is very funny about the intake size at the MAF.

****edit****

Crap, I didn't realize he didn't have a yaris.... my bad.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world -Mahatma Gandhi-
BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2020, 07:43 AM   #12
gab25diygarage
gab25diygarage
 
Drives: 2017 yaris NCP150
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Philippines
Posts: 2
please do not buy a knocked off air filter ...not doing its job well trust me after a month check your throttle.
never change the diameter pipe of the MAF sensor the oem its design is already programmed on the ecu. if ever you have change the air and fuel mixture will be rich or lean either way you loose power. if you want to change because you want to gain speed well you really need to remap your ecu.(after upgrading the intake, exhaust etc...)
take note: upgrading your intake you must also upgrade you exhaust then to be safe and sure things has change and you can testify as well because it has a record, do the "remapping".
gab25diygarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tooter's manifold adventure... tooter Performance Modifications 1465 07-31-2014 09:11 PM
intake size lunarcrusader Performance Modifications 6 11-06-2009 03:20 PM
The great intake debate! fmicle General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 75 10-07-2009 12:38 AM
Intake Systems Decision Maker.. Blenjar Performance Modifications 25 09-15-2007 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.