Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 11:11 PM   #1
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,898
yaris voltage issue

Hey all,

Ive got this odd electrical issue and im not sure exactpy where to start. Recently ky car has had the battery light on. Upon further inspection using my obd2 scanner my ECM voltage was 11.23v. This was with idling and driving and reving. The voltage stayed at 11.23v - 11.36v until randomly the volts jumped up to 13 and 14 volts and the light turned off. This is a random issue. The capacitor on my system also displayed the same voltage as my obd2 scanner.

I would like to think this issue has something to do with my alternator having an issue but then again this issue didnt come up since after i replaced my engine and battery. So it also could be a connector or ground or something silly.

Any ideas where to start? Or possible causes?
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:15 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Check the terminals on the large connectors on the backside of the positive battery terminal for corrosion. Also, check the ground cables that connect to the block to ensure that you tightened them.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,898
Thanks scott,

Positive terminal on the battery was fine (brand new and tight) and also my ground on the engine (that i had tons of issues due to those not being tight) are good and tight.

I did also check the main power wire from the alt to the battery and found that had been left loose....tfrom the arking it melted the plasic clip cover to protect that connection and corroided the hell out out of the screw. I tried to tighten it but due to corroision it was hard to turn so to ensure i didnt break it. I will hit it with pb blaster when i get back from the holidays and try to loosen it off, clean it and tighten the heck out of it.

Would di-electric grease be okay to put on that connector
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:52 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaris2010RS View Post
Thanks scott,

Positive terminal on the battery was fine (brand new and tight) and also my ground on the engine (that i had tons of issues due to those not being tight) are good and tight.

I did also check the main power wire from the alt to the battery and found that had been left loose....tfrom the arking it melted the plasic clip cover to protect that connection and corroided the hell out out of the screw. I tried to tighten it but due to corroision it was hard to turn so to ensure i didnt break it. I will hit it with pb blaster when i get back from the holidays and try to loosen it off, clean it and tighten the heck out of it.

Would di-electric grease be okay to put on that connector
Dielectric grease won't hurt it.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 04:45 PM   #5
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,898
Ugh.... so as predicted the stud broke....... is there a way to remove the old stud from the alt or do i need a new one ?
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 05:00 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaris2010RS View Post
Ugh.... so as predicted the stud broke....... is there a way to remove the old stud from the alt or do i need a new one ?
The way that the bolts snap off they are typically easily removed, once you get the alternator off. Crashy2's snapped off as you see in the picture below. Once it broke I was able to work the alternator off of the mount and then was able to get the broken piece out with a drill and an easy-out. Use a liberal amount of never-seize when installing the new one to prevent the same problem in the future.

__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 05:04 PM   #7
WeeYari
 
WeeYari's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,430
My take on this is he broke the brass stud that the 12v cable connects to.
__________________
WeeYari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 05:15 PM   #8
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeeYari View Post
My take on this is he broke the brass stud that the 12v cable connects to.
If that is the case, then it can be repaired by replacing the rectifier assembly, which it is part of:



__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:37 PM   #9
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,898
That is really disappointing.....

For now Im gonna try to make shift something.....

Thanks guys
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:55 PM   #10
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,898
Hey scott, by any chance do you have part number for that? i managed to make it work for now but its a tempory fix for sure
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:01 PM   #11
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaris2010RS View Post
Hey scott, by any chance do you have part number for that? i managed to make it work for now but its a tempory fix for sure
27357-22200
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 05:20 PM   #12
yaris2010RS
 
yaris2010RS's Avatar
 
Drives: no-longer-boosted '10 Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Angus, Ontario
Posts: 1,898
you are GOD my friend

and the loose and corrodied connection there does appear to have been my voltage issue
__________________
If it has boobs or wheels sooner or later your gonna have problems with it
yaris2010RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yaris Motor Swap Thread *Read before posting swap threads* Sabretooth Performance Modifications 217 03-17-2016 09:49 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 09:53 PM
Urgently Seeking Help! Yairs Accelaration Issue! 08 Yaris 5 speed! gnava3 DIY / Maintenance / Service 7 08-25-2010 04:55 PM
JDM GROUND WIRE VOLTAGE STABILIZER TOYOTA YARIS jamal1984 Performance Modifications 17 03-26-2007 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.