Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Members Area > Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions
  The Tire Rack

Old 11-11-2020, 10:10 AM   #1
bronsin

Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Replacing spark plug wire with bell wire

It was in November 1973 my freshman year of college. My friend William said his 1966 Renails would not start and could I give him a hand fixing it? I’ve never worked on one before but I told him I would do my best.

Right away when we open the hood I saw the problem. Chunks of insulation were falling off the spark plug wires! I’ve never seen such a mess before. I arranged three of the wires so they wouldn’t touch the block but this was impossible with the fourth one. I proposed to William that we replaced the wire with bell wire from the science lab as he only had enough money to make it home for Thanksgiving and I had $50 in the bank that would only last me the rest of the year. A new set of spark plug wires was $18

It was easy to connect one end of the wire to the spark plug because it was threaded, but how to attach the end to the distributor? I solve the problem by Whittling a twig with my Swiss Army knife until it fit the hole in the distributor cap. I use the twig to wedge the wire in place being careful not to crack the distributor cap! That would’ve been the end of everything!

I told William the wire would probably vanish in a puff of smoke when he started it, but to my surprise not only didn’t that happen the car started and ran sweetly.

I warned William this was only a temporary fix to borrow the money from his father during Thanksgiving and replace that green piece of bell wire!