Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Forced Induction Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 09-30-2010, 11:55 PM   #1
10Kyaris

Drives: 2009 toyota yaris base
Exclamation noob here.. need help on questions about turbo and engine life

ive looked around the forum ( which im still new to) and i want to know how will a turbo effect the life of my engine??? i can do basic things likes like swap parts no problem and troubleshoot problems with my haynes manual..but my guess is with these small engines, there probally not meant to have too many horsies... ive been told a bolt on turbo is probally the best for me with my average knowledge about cars.. HELP????
10Kyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 04:10 AM   #2
Freedan

Drives: 2010 Yaris Bayou Blue 3DR Lift
Anything you do to increase performance will come at a price. Increase wear and tear, etc. You have to WANT it bad. Not just a passing fancy. If you aren't ready/willing to commit a lot of TIME and MONEY, then a Turbo isn't right for you.

Sorry if that came out as harsh but I just had to get that out of the way.

Here is a guide from Focus Shift on how he installed his Zage Turbo Kit.
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30375

Read it then decide if you can do the install yourself. Not sure how much a shop will charge to install a Turbo, but I highly doubt it'll be cheap.

And just for the record, I don't have a Turbo or Supercharger. Lack of Funds is my problem.
Freedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 10:16 AM   #3
why?
Only Happy When it Rains

Drives: Yaris LB
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10Kyaris View Post