Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2017, 07:35 PM   #1
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 06 2ZR Turbo Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 2,347
Replaced Downstream O2 Sensor

I've had a check engine light on since I bought the car. According to Torque Pro OBD2, I had zero volts on the bank 1 sensor 2. So, I replaced the sensor today and was disappointed that it still read 0 volts while idling in my driveway, however the MIL did not return. But I went for a drive and now it works. Getting a good sweep from 0.1 to 0.9 volts and air fuel ratios, commanded and measured, are perfectly in sync. I found the answer on another Toyota model car/truck forum.

Anyone want to guess why it didn't appear to work at first?
__________________


2006 Yaris 5 Door RS 2ZR-FE (2011 Corolla 1.8L) Swapped, Automatic, T-28 Turbocharged (8 psi), HSD MonoPro Coilovers, DIY W/M Injection, custom 3" cold air intake, custom 2.5" exhaust, TRD rear sway bar, Penguin Garage 13mm spacers (rear), custom Civic front lip, full repaint, Android 6.0 7" touchscreen, Rockford Fosgate speakers, tweeters, NVX underseat subwoofer
https://www.instagram.com/2zr_turbo_yarisrs/
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:05 PM   #2
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 994
maybe when it was in open loop it had not sent voltage to sensor yet. (?)
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:12 PM   #3
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 06 2ZR Turbo Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 2,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDigby View Post
maybe when it was in open loop it had not sent voltage to sensor yet. (?)
It may be. But, I don't really understand the concept of open loop even after reading a couple of explanations. My pea brain was incapable of grasping the idea. But, it sounds like you are on the right track in that it did not show a voltage until a certain condition was met. What condition do you think that was? It is different than my Kia's sensors as they will start to show fluctuating voltages from the 02 sensors as soon as it's started.

I don't know much about vehicle electronics.

Wish me luck as I paid $18.00 USD on eBay for this sensor. It's a cheap knockoff, but seems to work - so far anyway.
__________________


2006 Yaris 5 Door RS 2ZR-FE (2011 Corolla 1.8L) Swapped, Automatic, T-28 Turbocharged (8 psi), HSD MonoPro Coilovers, DIY W/M Injection, custom 3" cold air intake, custom 2.5" exhaust, TRD rear sway bar, Penguin Garage 13mm spacers (rear), custom Civic front lip, full repaint, Android 6.0 7" touchscreen, Rockford Fosgate speakers, tweeters, NVX underseat subwoofer
https://www.instagram.com/2zr_turbo_yarisrs/

Last edited by 06YarisRS; 09-25-2017 at 10:26 PM.
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:41 PM   #4
Bluevitz-rs
1NZ-6spd Turbo
 
Bluevitz-rs's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 6-Spd Vitz RS Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,961
The sensor needs to heat up before it works. O2 sensors create their own voltage, so what you're reading isn't anything sent from the computer. It only reads what the sensor sends it.
Bluevitz-rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:59 PM   #5
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 06 2ZR Turbo Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 2,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluevitz-rs View Post
The sensor needs to heat up before it works. O2 sensors create their own voltage, so what you're reading isn't anything sent from the computer. It only reads what the sensor sends it.
Yes! I read that it has to reach, I believe, 600F before it sends voltage. Thanks for playing, both of you!
__________________


2006 Yaris 5 Door RS 2ZR-FE (2011 Corolla 1.8L) Swapped, Automatic, T-28 Turbocharged (8 psi), HSD MonoPro Coilovers, DIY W/M Injection, custom 3" cold air intake, custom 2.5" exhaust, TRD rear sway bar, Penguin Garage 13mm spacers (rear), custom Civic front lip, full repaint, Android 6.0 7" touchscreen, Rockford Fosgate speakers, tweeters, NVX underseat subwoofer
https://www.instagram.com/2zr_turbo_yarisrs/
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 06:53 PM   #6
Neinris
 
Drives: 08 Yaris 3 Door Hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: ‘Murica!
Posts: 184
O2 Sensor downstream connection location?

I have multiple faults and I think it’s my downstream O2 sensor that’s most likely the culprit. I went underneath the car, but the connection leads inside the cabin. Where is it exactly located?
Neinris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 10:52 PM   #7
Neinris
 
Drives: 08 Yaris 3 Door Hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: ‘Murica!
Posts: 184
Thanks Adam

Just want to share the youtube video you sent me:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yT5Wgs1b6wg
Neinris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 07:06 AM   #8
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 06 2ZR Turbo Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 2,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neinris View Post
Just want to share the youtube video you sent me:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yT5Wgs1b6wg
Glad it helped you!
__________________


2006 Yaris 5 Door RS 2ZR-FE (2011 Corolla 1.8L) Swapped, Automatic, T-28 Turbocharged (8 psi), HSD MonoPro Coilovers, DIY W/M Injection, custom 3" cold air intake, custom 2.5" exhaust, TRD rear sway bar, Penguin Garage 13mm spacers (rear), custom Civic front lip, full repaint, Android 6.0 7" touchscreen, Rockford Fosgate speakers, tweeters, NVX underseat subwoofer
https://www.instagram.com/2zr_turbo_yarisrs/
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 11:03 PM   #9
remcafee
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 132
start saving for an oem sensor, i replace tons of aftermarket sensors on customer cars coming to the dealer complaining another shop fixed their car a month ago and it has the same error codes back on again
remcafee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY : changing the Oxygen / O2 sensor on Yaris hatch MANY PICS auxmike DIY / Maintenance / Service 49 06-26-2020 12:04 AM
Rear Speed Sensor Install Help? (ABS Sensor) towerofpower DIY / Maintenance / Service 2 04-07-2014 06:32 PM
Upper O2 sensor replaced but did not fix the problem Hard_Yaris DIY / Maintenance / Service 9 04-10-2013 10:22 AM
The "let's brainstorm how to make a piggyback work" thread eTiMaGo Forced Induction Forum 100 08-17-2011 03:54 PM
NEED ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CODE LIST Attitude Forced Induction Forum 12 04-11-2011 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.