Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2021, 08:54 AM   #1
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 655
Starts but dies

hello everyone. I hope you all are holding in there.

So appears I'm having a new issue with blucar (4" lift and 28" tires)
The engine has approx 410,000km now and was running fine till just before Christmas. I was at a work Christmas party (outside in our parking lot lol) when I started my car to warm up before I left. When I came back to the car, it had stalled out. I tried starting it for about half an hour and it would fire up for a second then die. Eventually I got it running and never had a problem again till yesterday.

Again I started the car to warm up before leaving work. As I was walking g back to the shop I heard it die again. This time I was able to get it running in about 5 min. It drove home fine. Then I went to get groceries and the same thing happened. Another few attempts and it was running fine again.

Now this morning the same thing happened. Except after trying for 20 min I couldn't get it started. There are codes for throttle pedal circuit but im sure they were there before all this. I noticed a new code for maf sensor p0102.

I've also noticed the tach isn't responding when cranking or runnig breifly. Also the cold temp light flashing during cranking and sputtering.

This car owes me nothing with this mileage and I actually made money on this car when the last one was rear ended with what the insurance paid me for the last one and what I paid for this one.

Any ideas? Clean/replace maf? Drag to scrap yard?

Edit: after more searching, I've come across TSB #0344-08 (faulty engine e wire harness) listing throttle and maf codes as some of the identifiers. I do still have the original engine harness from my 2zr swapped 2007 lift back. Should be the same harness right? Hopefully without the issues? I dont think it would be a bad idea to swap the harnesses and find out.

Any other thoughts?
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577

Last edited by myfirstyota; 02-18-2021 at 12:13 PM.
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 07:11 AM   #2
nortonfb
 
Drives: 2007
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: motown
Posts: 337
Check for air leaks.
Easy way is start it and spray WD40 around hoses/ gaskets, idle will change if it is sucking air.
Sounds like fuel delivery issue.
nortonfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 03:14 PM   #3
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 655
I can't even get the car to idle.

Ive removed the fuel line rom firewall to engine hard line and cranked the engine. Fuel is at least getting to the hardline at the back of the engine. For sure the fuel pump is working.

Tried scanning the car again today. I can't get my corded scanner or my Bluetooth scanner with torque app to connect. The corded scanner just says 'link error' after a minute of trying and the Bluetooth scanner simply won't connect. Key in ignition set to on. Also the engine temp '"cool light is blinking while key set to on.

I have a spare ecm from my swapped car. I'll try installing that tomorrow and see what happens. Unless anyone else has a better idea?
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 09:15 PM   #4
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 655
So I ended up swapping the engine wire harness from the original motor of my swapped car. No dice. Cranks but does not catch at all. Then I swapped the ecu from the 2zr swapped car. Still won't catch.

I haven't checked for spark or compression as of yet. But im also just leaning on the idea of a 2zr swap for this car as well. I have already acquired some necessary parts in the past couple years
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 07:30 AM   #5
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 06 2ZR Turbo Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 2,347
Any developments, man? This kind of thing is so frustrating. Is there any indication that it wants to fire? Do you have access to a smoke testing device? I do wonder if it's related to air/vacuum in some way. You did try cleaning your MAF sensor, right? One thing that intrigues me, though, is the unresponsive tach during cranking. Also, what about your fuel pump. Could you pressure test it at the fuel rail somehow?
__________________


2006 Yaris 5 Door RS 2ZR-FE (2011 Corolla 1.8L) Swapped, Automatic, T-28 Turbocharged (8 psi), HSD MonoPro Coilovers, DIY W/M Injection, custom 3" cold air intake, custom 2.5" exhaust, TRD rear sway bar, Penguin Garage 13mm spacers (rear), custom Civic front lip, full repaint, Android 6.0 7" touchscreen, Rockford Fosgate speakers, tweeters, NVX underseat subwoofer
https://www.instagram.com/2zr_turbo_yarisrs/
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 12:40 PM   #6
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 655
Naa nothing as of yet. Its been pretty chilly here, and I dont have a garage so working on it has been a daunting thought.

The first few times it happened I was able to get it fired up. While trying those times it would catch for a second, stumble and die and eventually after many attempts it would start and run fine for a few days.

After changing the throttle body and accelerator pedal ( i was getting codes for those) there was no change. I would still get occasional times of non start eventually resulting getting it going.

Then one morning on the way to work, it died just up the street from my house. I had to push the car about 100meters home. I couldn't get it going after that. I then changed the engine harness to no avail. The car still won't start.

I never really tried to get it going after that. With 400,000 km ive just decided to swap the car to a 2zr. I only need an engine, shifter cables and cv shafts to complete the swap. I already have all the other bits needed.

With the total lack of power of the 1nz with the 28" tires on the car, and the high mileage, I figured a swap only made sense lol
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 12:54 PM   #7
WeeYari
 
WeeYari's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Polar White 5dr, 13 Soul 4u
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by myfirstyota View Post
The first few times it happened I was able to get it fired up. While trying those times it would catch for a second, stumble and die and eventually after many attempts it would start and run fine
This is exactly the same behaviour I experienced with mine last year. The last two times I've had its ass end jacked in the air, it would behave the same when trying to start after dropping it back down. The first time was when I was slowly doing some exhaust work and it stayed jacked up for a week. Thought I had somehow created an air lock in the fuel line. The second time it was only jacked for a couple hours while doing brake work.

Now you have me fearing that it'll start doing the same thing just because it feels like it.
__________________
WeeYari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 02:33 PM   #8
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 655
I hope not, for your sake. It may be a simple fix, I just haven't had the desire in these temps. Besides, it gave me an excuse to pull the red 2zr swapped car out of hibernation :)

I wonder if our fuel pumps are tired? Mine does flow, but I haven't checked pressure.
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2021, 11:06 PM   #9
remcafee
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 132
fuel pumps are pretty common on these ive sone about 4 fuel pumps on theae cars all with a lot of miles but disconnect a fuel line and crank it and see if fuel is coming out
remcafee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 06:10 PM   #10
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by remcafee View Post
fuel pumps are pretty common on these ive sone about 4 fuel pumps on theae cars all with a lot of miles but disconnect a fuel line and crank it and see if fuel is coming out
That I did do, and I do have fuel flow.
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2021, 11:18 AM   #11
Neinris
 
Drives: 08 Yaris 3 Door Hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: ‘Murica!
Posts: 184
Did you swap the MAF from a known good? Checked for vacuum leak? While I was hunting for my faults, I was unplugging hoses, when I took the hose for the PCV she stalled, and when I unplugged the connection from my MAF, obviously she won’t start.
Can you list all the codes?
Neinris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starts the Dies groundskeeperwilly DIY / Maintenance / Service 5 09-30-2019 11:40 AM
Engine shutting off at idle, dash lights flickering, and engine starts on it's own! jack.duno DIY / Maintenance / Service 0 09-23-2019 09:08 PM
2008 yaris starts then dies out in 10-15 seconds Kmartboy808 Hawaii 4 12-24-2018 03:14 AM
Some hard starts? BennyLava General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 18 11-09-2017 07:35 AM
Car Dies While Driving josh044 DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 07-28-2017 10:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.