Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2009, 02:40 AM   #1
yaris-me
Learn to Relax
 
Drives: 2007, Meteorite, LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,070
Throttle lag and response

I bought a PLX Kiwi. I've been using it in sensor mode. I discovered tonight that there is a throttle lag and it does not open beyond 81%. No matter how much I floor it it won't go beyond 81%. On acceleration it will pause, go to 50%, pause and then 70%, then to 80%. On passing there is that same pause. I would like to say half a second to a second, but I'm guessing.

I know it's DBW (drive by wire), but this is a big lag. Also, it doesn't open beyond 81%. This can only mean that DBW is preventing full performance of the engine. Do you think this is true?
yaris-me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 03:26 AM   #2
ddongbap
Banned
 
Drives: yw calls me douche and racist.
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hay
Posts: 2,183
Is this true untill redline?
ddongbap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 03:34 AM   #3
yaris-me
Learn to Relax
 
Drives: 2007, Meteorite, LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,070
I couldn't take it to redline, but first to third it shifted on its own at full throttle. I was on Broadway and later on Magnolia. I'll play with it some more tomorrow.
yaris-me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 03:35 AM   #4
ddongbap
Banned
 
Drives: yw calls me douche and racist.
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hay
Posts: 2,183
Yea, I don't think its normal. If 81% was normal, you'd still hit redline, you know what I mean?
ddongbap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 03:47 AM   #5
yaris-me
Learn to Relax
 
Drives: 2007, Meteorite, LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,070
I didn't have enough road to really open up the throttle. I'll have to try again on the freeway.

My initial feeling was that the DBW and engine management computer is preventing me from damaging the engine. If this is true then being able to reprogram the computer would allow you to gain more HP and better performance.
yaris-me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:45 AM   #6
2006fronty
 
2006fronty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Mazda3 iTouring
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Bernardino
Posts: 234
Would the Blitz throttle controller help with the 81% throttle issue? or does it just open the throttle faster getting to the 81% limit SOONER? It seems like it would help with the lag with the DBW though.
__________________
2006fronty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 08:18 AM   #7
TOUGEghost
Mr. Clean
 
TOUGEghost's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris S 3-Door
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kauai
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaris-me View Post
I discovered tonight that there is a throttle lag and it does not open beyond 81%.
I noticed the same thing on my car. I've heard of the same issue on other DBW cars as well.

Last edited by TOUGEghost; 03-03-2009 at 08:30 AM.
TOUGEghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:12 PM   #8
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,859
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
The Blitz unit changes the curve but not the top limit, I think.

I've heard this post before about it not opening up past 81% -- curious.
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 02:53 AM   #9
yaris-me
Learn to Relax
 
Drives: 2007, Meteorite, LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddongbap View Post
Is this true untill redline?
Tonight I tried some more. I have an AT. When the water temp reach 172, I started to floor the gas. First to second it shifted at 5400 and later at 5800. Second to third shifted at 5800 and later at 6000. Third to fourth shifted at 5800 and later at 6000. After a while, the highest shift point was 6100, third to fourth. The ECU never allowed me to redline the engine and the throttle never went beyond 81%

The throttle lag is gone. I think the ECU is adaptive and after a while it eliminated the lag.
yaris-me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 10:07 AM   #10
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,888
in an automatic, i belive the ECU is able to detect your load and shift accordingly to that.

try to sit 4 in the car and do the same test again. i'm 99% sure it will shift closer to redline. At least, this is what i noticed with my 93 swift. Alone in the car, I always wondered why it would always shift at ~4000-4500rpm until one day we were 4 in the car and going on an incline... it went all the way to redline before shifting..
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 10:18 AM   #11
YarisPR
 
YarisPR's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MayaWest, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,574
ANy ideas on a manual?
__________________
I Drive a 129whp Yaris ;)
YarisPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:43 PM   #12
yaris-me
Learn to Relax
 
Drives: 2007, Meteorite, LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by YarisPR View Post
ANy ideas on a manual?
I think the ECU determines maximum engine output. The ECU would probably limit fuel after 6000 RPM preventing you from damaging the engine. I think this would apply to manual also.
yaris-me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 05:10 PM   #13
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,888
the redline is somewehre around 6250rpm.

i got to the cutoff a few times.. it's around 6500rpm. i would love to have a scangauge to know the real answer to this...
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:28 PM   #14
1NZYaris1
 
1NZYaris1's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,566
Scangauge reads the same max throttle 80%
1NZYaris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:34 PM   #15
PETERPOOP
 
PETERPOOP's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 white liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oahu
Posts: 3,674
dun dun dun!
PETERPOOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:50 PM   #16
blktiger60
 
blktiger60's Avatar
 
Drives: `08 HB S
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
the redline is somewehre around 6250rpm.

i got to the cutoff a few times.. it's around 6500rpm. i would love to have a scangauge to know the real answer to this...

No point in waiting till 6500 RPM's to shift. That's well past the power range.

Manual:
On the freeway today, on my way to work, I downshifted to 3rd floored it to 5800 and slapped it into 4th - plenty of acceleration. I didn't notice any latency. I know for a fact I can smoke the stock tires in first and get a chirp from second. Doesn't feel like DBW to me.
__________________
- The Black Ship Yaris -
blktiger60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 09:06 PM   #17
TOUGEghost
Mr. Clean
 
TOUGEghost's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris S 3-Door
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kauai
Posts: 268
I wasn't complaining about any lag, but 80% throttle with the pedal all the way down does bother me.
TOUGEghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 07:41 PM   #18
DogetorHue
 
Drives: 2009 Silver Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: The Moon
Posts: 2
I know this is an old thread, but it would seem that the ECU is intentionally limiting throttle response. Take a look at this graph from one of the manuals...
Attached Images
 
DogetorHue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.