Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2022, 07:52 PM   #1
MyCarWasFree
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris 4 door hatch
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Car wonít roll backwards

So I was driving my 2010 Yaris 1.5 with the automatic home the other night it started to shift kind of hard and then lost high gear all together. It would just get to third and got to shift and would just rap out like it was in neutral. I got it home as it was only a few hundred yards down the road. I changed the transmission filter a fluid as a last ditch effort to maybe save the transmission. Now when I put the car in neutral with the engine off it will only roll forwards. When I try to push it backwards it acts like something is binding. Any thoughts pointers or ideas guys? Otherwise I guess Iím looking for either an engine/trans swap or a just the same transmission that came with the 1.5.
MyCarWasFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 12:30 AM   #2
sh0rtlife
 
Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: pacific north WET
Posts: 644
it sounds like a band let go...ot possibly one of the solinoids is jambed up


best i can do is offer the number of a shop i get my rebuilt transmissions from...good prices even better quality with outstanding customer service
sh0rtlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 01:43 AM   #3
IndestructibleYaris
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 114
Replacing the tranny wouldn't be a bad idea since the car is mechanically bound up, and it sounds like you're convinced it's mechanical and within the tranny
IndestructibleYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 10:53 AM   #4
MyCarWasFree
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris 4 door hatch
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Yea I’m convince it’s in the trans. But didn’t know if anyone else had experienced this issues and maybe had a quick fix for it. I found a used trans with 90k on it for $350 I’ll probably pick it up and swap it in until I can afford to do a 2zr swap. Thanks guys.
MyCarWasFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 02:24 PM   #5
sh0rtlife
 
Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: pacific north WET
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyCarWasFree View Post
Yea Iím convince itís in the trans. But didnít know if anyone else had experienced this issues and maybe had a quick fix for it. I found a used trans with 90k on it for $350 Iíll probably pick it up and swap it in until I can afford to do a 2zr swap. Thanks guys.
if it doesnt come with the torque converter dont buy it!!!!! i cant stress this enough


also get yourself an inline filter as a safty measure for the "new" trans
sh0rtlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 06:21 PM   #6
MyCarWasFree
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris 4 door hatch
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
It has the torque converter with it. And I know it’s not new. It’s just gotta get me by for a little while so I can source the parts for what I really want. Got a write up on the in-line filter? I would have no idea where to install it.
MyCarWasFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 09:48 PM   #7
sh0rtlife
 
Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: pacific north WET
Posts: 644
nothing really to write up, you just dissconnect one of the lines from the trans to the cooler built into the bottom of the radiator and add a filter to the line...looks and connects the same as a fuel filter would
sh0rtlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2022, 09:05 AM   #8
MyCarWasFree
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris 4 door hatch
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Well that plan fell through that transmission is junk too. Anyone have a lead on a manual transmission? I’d rather have that than the auto I just got get all the pieces together to do the swap might see if I can just do the 2zr engine and trans together if I can fine one.
MyCarWasFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2022, 03:55 PM   #9
sh0rtlife
 
Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: pacific north WET
Posts: 644
cant you use the manual from a scion as well and something about it having the better gearing?
sh0rtlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2023, 03:03 PM   #10
MyCarWasFree
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris 4 door hatch
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh0rtlife View Post
cant you use the manual from a scion as well and something about it having the better gearing?
Thatís good advice. Iím trying to figure out what would be the best swap for it. Iíve read through a lot of the posts for the engine swap but canít really find anything about using a donor transmission as well. It seems like they all use the stock transmission that was in the car.
MyCarWasFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2023, 04:18 AM   #11
Compeer
 
Drives: NCP90 TRD Yaris Manual
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyCarWasFree View Post
That’s good advice. I’m trying to figure out what would be the best swap for it. I’ve read through a lot of the posts for the engine swap but can’t really find anything about using a donor transmission as well. It seems like they all use the stock transmission that was in the car.
Just about any of the toyota fwd manual gearboxes will fit, c50,c51,c52,c54,c56,c154 and the list goes on.

Really you need to find a manual yaris donor car tho as you need clutch pedal, clutch cylinders, the gear box itself, drive shafts, ecu, clutch lines, mounting brackets and hardware and all the incabin shifter assembly and bushings. Joey has a vid on youtube where he does the swap was the first yari modding video i watched hahaha

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHn2KlWIG4o&t

Last edited by Compeer; 01-15-2023 at 04:35 AM.
Compeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2023, 02:58 PM   #12
sh0rtlife
 
Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: pacific north WET
Posts: 644
ok i get the ecu, lines, mountings pedals and shifter but certainly the rest can be pulled from most any FWD as well, actualy i thought the pedals could be pulled from a few things?

i want to slowly grab up the part and have them for a future swap...but ive yet to see a complete list of what can be grabbed from other cars....
sh0rtlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
enobmort42 - Photo-Scavenger Hunt! enobmort42 Photo-Video-Media Gallery 9 03-05-2009 11:52 PM
thewifesyaris - photo scavenger hunt thewifesyaris Photo-Video-Media Gallery 0 03-01-2009 07:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.