Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2009, 07:56 PM   #181
julienrl
 
Drives: 2007 yaris
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ottawa
Posts: 14
Hello, I wanted to do this but could not find the parts (even with the part numbers) for the covers\panels on the dash (so I can swap it for the normal one if I take the car in for servicing or something or want to sell the car as a trade in in the future), so I made the mirror cover one myself! It happens to be a hobby of mine to make plastic objects \ casting and molding, so if anyone needs a mirror cover, the master mold is made, and since that was the expensive part, i can make them for pretty cheap if anyone wants one for 10$ shipping anywhere included :). Takes about 24 to have one made and ready so it could be sent pretty quickly.
julienrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 10:08 PM   #182
taka
 
Drives: 2008 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
Posts: 10
Thank Scott for this DIY.
System is installed and working. Couple things I found on my 2008 Sedan: The wire is already installed between ECM pin 40 to connector AD4 under the dash. Instead of running a new wire from ECM or disassemble the dash to get to the wire from the top of AD4, I push a long pin up from the bottom of connector AD4 (pin 9) for wire connection to the switches.
My two spring loaded off toggle switches are mounted onto a existing blanking hole located beside the park brake handle. Toggle switches operation are: System enable/disable on each toggle and Set/Coast (when held). Sorry I would have posted photo of the installation if and when I find out how to.
taka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:36 PM   #183
127.0.0.1
Banned
 
Drives: '10 Yaris5drHB+99 4runner LTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NE
Posts: 672
2010 US Yaris 5doorHB, confirmed

I just did post 1 to my 2010 yaris and it works perfectly. I made my own switchbox and will mount near the handbrake.



edit: I just found my new permanent switch. I will get this in the mail, then
cut off the control box I have now, and mount this in the empty switch slot
next to my stereo AUX input.


super sano install for the Yaris. keyboard sized 2-axis momentary joystick

http://www.alliedelec.com/search/pro...px?SKU=9485541
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 948-5541.jpg (5.3 KB, 433 views)

Last edited by 127.0.0.1; 10-08-2009 at 04:34 PM.
127.0.0.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 06:38 PM   #184
ditso
I've made a post!
 
Drives: still shopping
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1
Noise Reduction Headphone Jack

I really enjoyed CTScott's instructions on how to add cruise control. I haven't purchased a Yaris yet but I'm planning to do so this spring. Since CTScott obviously is a very smart individual, I was wondering whether he could provide instructions on how to add a headphone jack in approximately the same location as the two cruise control switches. The jack would not necessarily need to shut off the speakers in the car--just tap into the sound system. Before someone goes ballistic on how "unsafe" this is, I would like to point out that my drive is very early in the morning on an interstate with very little traffic. I would take the headphones off when driving in serious traffic. Thanks.
ditso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 06:42 PM   #185
127.0.0.1
Banned
 
Drives: '10 Yaris5drHB+99 4runner LTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NE
Posts: 672
2010 Yaris 5door Auto, DIY cruisecontrol switch installed. pardon the red sharpie treatment, it needs another coat.

it's teh bomb. the switch action feels like toyota engineered this thing, it really does. easy to hang yer arm off the
armrest and + or - ...and it is precise.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2347.jpg (125.8 KB, 1056 views)
127.0.0.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:22 PM   #186
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by 127.0.0.1 View Post
2010 Yaris 5door Auto, DIY cruisecontrol switch installed. pardon the red sharpie treatment, it needs another coat.

it's teh bomb. the switch action feels like toyota engineered this thing, it really does. easy to hang yer arm off the
armrest and + or - ...and it is precise.

Very cool!
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:02 PM   #187
POORSHA
 
POORSHA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 LB
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NE CT
Posts: 418
good stuff!
POORSHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:21 PM   #188
Antipilor
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris 5-speed
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 2
So I think I might have screwed up somewhere, I just notice in the last day or so after I installed this mod (stills not working but I havn't had time to track down the problem). I noticed that the airbag off light on the passenger side will light up only for a bit randomly while driving. The airbag on light works fine when someone is riding with me. Any ideas on what I did wrong?
Antipilor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:32 PM   #189
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antipilor View Post
So I think I might have screwed up somewhere, I just notice in the last day or so after I installed this mod (stills not working but I havn't had time to track down the problem). I noticed that the airbag off light on the passenger side will light up only for a bit randomly while driving. The airbag on light works fine when someone is riding with me. Any ideas on what I did wrong?
The two are probably unrelated. The airbag light occasionally flickering may be due to the empty seat weight calibration being off.

For the cruise issue, start with your connection at the ECM. Make sure you are in the correct pin there. If you just want to verify that the cruise and airbag issues are unrelated, disconnect the cruise wire to the ECM.

Posting pictures of your connection to the ECM and you resistor setup/wiring to it will help as well.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 11:03 PM   #190
SEALL
 
Drives: 08’Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: China
Posts: 10
hi guys,I'm from China with 08'Yaris 1.6AT 5doors liftback,i have done the CC work just like Vince87'job,but the CC don't work,is it haven't programs in my ECM/ECU? somebody help me~~~~
SEALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 07:10 AM   #191
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEALL View Post
hi guys,I'm from China with 08'Yaris 1.6AT 5doors liftback,i have done the CC work just like Vince87'job,but the CC don't work,is it haven't programs in my ECM/ECU? somebody help me~~~~
Can you track down the electrical wiring diagrams for the Chinese market Yaris? Someone from Europe tried the CC mod and it didn't work. Once I got a copy of the EWD for their market, I found that the CC pin on the ECM wasn't actually used for their market.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 12:06 AM   #192
SEALL
 
Drives: 08’Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: China
Posts: 10
OK,thanks for all,and do you know how much volts on pin 40?
SEALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:21 AM   #193
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEALL View Post
OK,thanks for all,and do you know how much volts on pin 40?
Pin 40 measures 12 volts with nothing connected to it.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:53 PM   #194
SEALL
 
Drives: 08’Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: China
Posts: 10
thanks! i will check it out,one more question:the Resistors should be 240 ohms/390 ohms/910 ohms and 1/8W or 1/4W? or whether it should be with limits?
SEALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:17 AM   #195
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEALL View Post
thanks! i will check it out,one more question:the Resistors should be 240 ohms/390 ohms/910 ohms and 1/8W or 1/4W? or whether it should be with limits?
Correct for the values. Either 1/8W or 1/4W is fine.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:31 PM   #196
SEALL
 
Drives: 08’Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: China
Posts: 10
Thanks for all,i checked the PIN 40 on the ECM yesterday,but it was no volts on it,so i can confirm that the CC pin on the ECM wasn't actually used for Chinese market.
thank you for all the help.
SEALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:59 PM   #197
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEALL View Post
Thanks for all,i checked the PIN 40 on the ECM yesterday,but it was no volts on it,so i can confirm that the CC pin on the ECM wasn't actually used for Chinese market.
thank you for all the help.
Maybe you should buy a USDM ECM off ebay. Then, you'll have the only Yaris in China with cruise control.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 04:04 AM   #198
sabya78
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UAE
Posts: 3
I installed the CC, when I switch it on the speedometer jumps once , pressing the set buttom dosen't set the speed . While installing , by mistake I connected the 12 V supply instead of the ground which stalled the engine immediately . Can anyone help me if I have screwed up the CC function of my ECU. The car is running fine otherwise.
sabya78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM foglight switch and leather wrap steering wheel 808yarisLB Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 8 03-11-2009 12:05 AM
SCION SPORT STEERING WHEEL, RED, XA AND XB, 03 TO 06 justoneyaris Items for Sale by private party 3 12-04-2008 06:30 PM
steering wheel setup aucorium Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 0 07-24-2007 01:05 AM
How do you take off steering wheel mrrock Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 12-05-2006 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.