Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2011, 01:36 PM   #19
marschall
 
Drives: vitz 06
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 18
The only problem is that it is not illuminating i just mailed pivot lets see i will keep you posted if you dont mind sir
marschall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:07 PM   #20
tforkner
 
Drives: 08 liftback 5 speed
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: georgia
Posts: 18
Cars have been started with keys since just after WWII (OK, not sure about that) for a reason. The only cars I ever had with start buttons had them because I bypassed bad wiring or key switches. I really don't get why start buttons are all the rage right now- they seem pre-tailfin to me.
tforkner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:25 AM   #21
1.5ty
Rollerskate
 
1.5ty's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 hb
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salisbury nc
Posts: 59
hey scott is there a way to start the car with the push start and not have to have the key at all like a switch you can hide and flip when you wanna hit the pts butten
__________________
Its a roller-skate get it right
add me on facebook if your from nc
my email for facebook is drifter704@yahoo.com
1.5ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 07:08 AM   #22
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1.5ty View Post
hey scott is there a way to start the car with the push start and not have to have the key at all like a switch you can hide and flip when you wanna hit the pts butten
You would have to remove the lock cylinder to get rid of the steering column lock. That eliminates a level of security for theft of your car, but if your 09 has the engine immobilizer, you would still need to wave the key by the receiver (the black rings around the key switch) to allow the car to start.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:56 AM   #23
1.5ty
Rollerskate
 
1.5ty's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 hb
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salisbury nc
Posts: 59
i dont have a chip its just a key and hey if you could or if you ever get a chance could you show me what wires i need to hook the new button that way when you have it off you cant do noting and with it on you can sttart the car listen to the radio every thing like a key but without the key
__________________
Its a roller-skate get it right
add me on facebook if your from nc
my email for facebook is drifter704@yahoo.com
1.5ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:11 AM   #24
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1.5ty View Post
i dont have a chip its just a key and hey if you could or if you ever get a chance could you show me what wires i need to hook the new button that way when you have it off you cant do noting and with it on you can sttart the car listen to the radio every thing like a key but without the key
Actually, thinking about it a bit more, with a basic momentary switch, all you can do it crank the starter. You still need something else (the key, another switch, etc.) to turn the engine on/off and to have things like ACC mode. The OEM PTS and some of the aftermarket ones have logic behind the switch that allows for the different modes (push once for ACC, again for ON, a third time to start, then hold for 3 seconds to kill).
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:15 AM   #25
hachi-roku_fan
 
Drives: 1986 Toyota Corolla
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Gate
Posts: 164
CTScott, do you think it would be possible to use the PTS system from a Lexus, that uses no keys at all, just sensors? Or is that a function that is limited by the ECU?
hachi-roku_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 01:14 PM   #26
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by hachi-roku_fan View Post
CTScott, do you think it would be possible to use the PTS system from a Lexus, that uses no keys at all, just sensors? Or is that a function that is limited by the ECU?
The OEM PTS system uses a different ECM, so even using an OEM Yaris/Vitz one from an area where that feature is available is impractical.

There is a complete aftermarket system that has been discussed on MI:

http://www.microimageonline.com/foru...-Entry-for-279
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:30 PM   #27
1.5ty
Rollerskate
 
1.5ty's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 hb
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salisbury nc
Posts: 59
hey scott I see that you said you made a pts setup how does your work I don't have a chip in the key and don't have power but I really don't wanna use the key other then to unlock the doors I wanna have mine set like a rally car flip a switch and then hit the button to start the car no keys
__________________
Its a roller-skate get it right
add me on facebook if your from nc
my email for facebook is drifter704@yahoo.com
1.5ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:45 PM   #28
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1.5ty View Post
hey scott I see that you said you made a pts setup how does your work I don't have a chip in the key and don't have power but I really don't wanna use the key other then to unlock the doors I wanna have mine set like a rally car flip a switch and then hit the button to start the car no keys
My module lets you use an OEM PTS switch and allows you to start and kill the engine.

For what you are looking to do, you would basically be replacing the keyswitch with your flip switch and then could use my module, or just a simple momentary switch for cranking the starter. The one downside to what you are thinking of doing is that without the key/steering column lock or the engine immobilizer it would be very easy for someone to steal your car.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:26 AM   #29
1.5ty
Rollerskate
 
1.5ty's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 hb
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Salisbury nc
Posts: 59
hell if someone wants my car ill give them a hr head start then call and say someone stole it i like my car and hate it at the same time
__________________
Its a roller-skate get it right
add me on facebook if your from nc
my email for facebook is drifter704@yahoo.com
1.5ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:35 PM   #30
isra
 
isra's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris hb
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PR
Posts: 87
if i install your pts module and i dont have the factory immobilizer do i still need to put the key in the ignition switch??
__________________
iSRA
isra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:39 PM   #31
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by isra View Post
if i install your pts module and i dont have the factory immobilizer do i still need to put the key in the ignition switch??
Yes. To unlock the steering column.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:44 PM   #32
isra
 
isra's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris hb
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PR
Posts: 87
is there a way to do it so that i dont need the key
__________________
iSRA
isra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:51 PM   #33
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by isra View Post
is there a way to do it so that i dont need the key
At this point not really. If I get around to adding the RFID interface to it, then that will completely take the place of the key.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 02:59 PM   #34
Mrdea321
 
Drives: Vitz 2006
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 2
Hey scoty i converted my yaris to totally push start with keyles entry.i change things
changed the complete dash board wiring of push start yaris
Smart card ecu
Smart door receiver control
Push start button
And given attached 3 antenas.
And door handles and its wiring.but im facing my door sensor wlare nit working i think due to wiring.they dont detect my key remote when i near i had to unlock manually by remote with unlock button.can anyone help regarding door wiring?
Mrdea321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GB- Push to Start , With SMART ENTRY 1NZYaris1 Items for Sale by private party 32 12-07-2011 02:10 AM
FS: Push to Start Trim Piece CTScott Items for Sale by private party 36 05-28-2010 01:42 PM
Push Button Start Stoln Europe (continental) 20 05-24-2010 08:56 AM
push start vs electric start? yaris2010RS General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 18 04-07-2010 03:20 PM
push to start engine button DIY (done) yarismo DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 03-31-2010 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.