Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2021, 09:54 AM   #1
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 625
Starts but dies

hello everyone. I hope you all are holding in there.

So appears I'm having a new issue with blucar (4" lift and 28" tires)
The engine has approx 410,000km now and was running fine till just before Christmas. I was at a work Christmas party (outside in our parking lot lol) when I started my car to warm up before I left. When I came back to the car, it had stalled out. I tried starting it for about half an hour and it would fire up for a second then die. Eventually I got it running and never had a problem again till yesterday.

Again I started the car to warm up before leaving work. As I was walking g back to the shop I heard it die again. This time I was able to get it running in about 5 min. It drove home fine. Then I went to get groceries and the same thing happened. Another few attempts and it was running fine again.

Now this morning the same thing happened. Except after trying for 20 min I couldn't get it started. There are codes for throttle pedal circuit but im sure they were there before all this. I noticed a new code for maf sensor p0102.

I've also noticed the tach isn't responding when cranking or runnig breifly. Also the cold temp light flashing during cranking and sputtering.

This car owes me nothing with this mileage and I actually made money on this car when the last one was rear ended with what the insurance paid me for the last one and what I paid for this one.

Any ideas? Clean/replace maf? Drag to scrap yard?

Edit: after more searching, I've come across TSB #0344-08 (faulty engine e wire harness) listing throttle and maf codes as some of the identifiers. I do still have the original engine harness from my 2zr swapped 2007 lift back. Should be the same harness right? Hopefully without the issues? I dont think it would be a bad idea to swap the harnesses and find out.

Any other thoughts?
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577

Last edited by myfirstyota; 02-18-2021 at 01:13 PM.
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 08:11 AM   #2
nortonfb
 
Drives: 2007
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: motown
Posts: 335
Check for air leaks.
Easy way is start it and spray WD40 around hoses/ gaskets, idle will change if it is sucking air.
Sounds like fuel delivery issue.
nortonfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 04:14 PM   #3
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 625
I can't even get the car to idle.

Ive removed the fuel line rom firewall to engine hard line and cranked the engine. Fuel is at least getting to the hardline at the back of the engine. For sure the fuel pump is working.

Tried scanning the car again today. I can't get my corded scanner or my Bluetooth scanner with torque app to connect. The corded scanner just says 'link error' after a minute of trying and the Bluetooth scanner simply won't connect. Key in ignition set to on. Also the engine temp '"cool light is blinking while key set to on.

I have a spare ecm from my swapped car. I'll try installing that tomorrow and see what happens. Unless anyone else has a better idea?
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 10:15 PM   #4
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 625
So I ended up swapping the engine wire harness from the original motor of my swapped car. No dice. Cranks but does not catch at all. Then I swapped the ecu from the 2zr swapped car. Still won't catch.

I haven't checked for spark or compression as of yet. But im also just leaning on the idea of a 2zr swap for this car as well. I have already acquired some necessary parts in the past couple years
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starts the Dies groundskeeperwilly DIY / Maintenance / Service 5 09-30-2019 12:40 PM
Engine shutting off at idle, dash lights flickering, and engine starts on it's own! jack.duno DIY / Maintenance / Service 0 09-23-2019 10:08 PM
2008 yaris starts then dies out in 10-15 seconds Kmartboy808 Hawaii 4 12-24-2018 04:14 AM
Some hard starts? BennyLava General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 18 11-09-2017 08:35 AM
Car Dies While Driving josh044 DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 07-28-2017 11:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.