Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Third Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Third Gen Yaris General Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2021, 11:18 PM   #1
YodaBird
 
Drives: Gray
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 330
Fuse Box cover for hardwire kit ?

The fuse box which is located below the drivers side, there is a hardwire kit which I need to plug into this fuse box; there is no way to replace the cover as to keep it from the fuses becoming wet ?
YodaBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2021, 08:06 AM   #2
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,321
Could you share a picture of what you have and the problem it's causing?
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2021, 08:11 AM   #3
YodaBird
 
Drives: Gray
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 330
Fifth video from the top; I want to plug in a hardwire kit but the cover will not go back on when this wire is plugged into one of the fuses ?
YodaBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 03:24 PM   #4
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,321
I thought you meant the one under the bonnet on the driver's side. Unless you've got a LOT of water splashing around down there, I think you'll be OK. The Echo has its main body ECU/junction/relay/fuse box in the same location and none of the fuses on that are covered.
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2021, 10:16 AM   #5
YodaBird
 
Drives: Gray
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 330
How do I know which fuse gives continuous power, even when the car is not on; for the fuse box under the bonnet of the drivers side ?
YodaBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2021, 04:02 PM   #6
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,321
Looks like everything in the fuse box under the bonnet is powered all the time.

If you're going to be doing electrical stuff on the car, an electrical meter is invaluable. Even a cheap battery powered one with an analog display or the free ones from Harbor Freight are fine for determining if there's power or not. That helps with chasing down electrical shorts and making sure your ground wires are actually grounded.
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2021, 08:22 PM   #7
YodaBird
 
Drives: Gray
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrankyOldMan View Post
Looks like everything in the fuse box under the bonnet is powered all the time.

If you're going to be doing electrical stuff on the car, an electrical meter is invaluable. Even a cheap battery powered one with an analog display or the free ones from Harbor Freight are fine for determining if there's power or not. That helps with chasing down electrical shorts and making sure your ground wires are actually grounded.
Thanks for the info.
Free electrical meter from Harbor Freight ?

When there is a wire, which is suppose to connect to any metal in the car, I assume that metal can be around the fuse box as well ?
YodaBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2021, 11:20 AM   #8
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,321
Our version of Princess Auto or Canadian Tire sometimes has coupons for a free tool (flashlight, screwdrivers, multimeter, etc.) in their flyer.

Correct, the negative terminal on the battery or any bare metal should be the "ground" potential. There's no ground reference inside the fuse box, typically it's a local point on the chassis that looks like a beverage can tab screwed to the metal. Toyota's ground wires are usually white with a black stripe or just brown.

The large black or white wires bolted to the side of the fuse box are live from the battery and provide power to all of the fuses. Even the empty fuse slots can be used with a fuse tap, just make sure you have it oriented correctly and the power goes through the fuse in the tap, not directly to the tap wire.
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydrodipped bezel, engine cover, fuse cover z0mb13k1ll Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 5 05-09-2016 10:39 PM
Fuse box Cover / Bin Craig W DIY / Maintenance / Service 2 02-08-2016 10:09 PM
Wtb driver side fuse cover bin and sun visor clips Creepin Willing to Buy by private party 3 02-07-2016 11:02 PM
Two amps one fuse? And hu install? FuuFuu In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 4 12-24-2011 11:33 AM
Toyota Echo or Scion Xa/Xb for aftermarket HU receiver kit? ceboyd In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 7 12-08-2006 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.