Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2010, 01:45 PM   #1
Steveh27
 
Drives: 2010 3dr hatchback auto red
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 81
AM vs FM

With my OEM radio the AM is much quieter than the FM stations. Why? I'm a frequent station changer & have to change the volume setting a lot when going back & forth. Do not like that. Any ideas or help?

Steve
Steveh27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
rningonfumes
 
rningonfumes's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Sedan 5MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 870
I listen to AM quite often and I don't notice much of a difference, then again I only care about differences if the sounds aren't coming in clear.

Maybe it is lower, I just never took notice since AM was mostly talk.
__________________
rningonfumes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:54 PM   #3
ChilliwackGuy
WCOAST CANADIAN DRIVER!!!
 
Drives: 2010 Hatch 5DR - AUTO/AC
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC, Canada
Posts: 109
I've had the same experience - but I listen mostly to iPod / CDs / and FM - which do sound fine. Whenever I use AM - it's just to listen to Traffic Reports on NEWS 1130AM - they broadcast traffic on the "1's" - and yeah it's low - but I just raise it and lower it as needed.
ChilliwackGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 03:26 PM   #4
bkndacn
 
bkndacn's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Havre de Grace, MD
Posts: 374
What I understand is that the OEM radio "saves" the volume between different inputs .... For example you can have your ipod on through the Aux playing at 64 (what I usually have it at) and then switch over to FM2 and have that at a volume of 15.... but later when you switch it back to Aux it will start playing at 64!!!! which has scared the $hit outa me and passengers but its something that you get used to
bkndacn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:46 PM   #5
Steveh27
 
Drives: 2010 3dr hatchback auto red
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 81
Yeah, that's what I'm talking about.

I've turned the volume up to hear the AM news, weather & traffic, then push the FM button & I'm blasted into the back seat!

WIsh the volume output was the same on both AM & FM.
Steveh27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 02:19 AM   #6
RedHatch08
Canadetroiter
 
RedHatch08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 3DR 5M
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 237
I don't think I've ever even tried AM yet.

I'll have to experiment next time I drive.
__________________
K&N Air Filter . Rear Debadge
RedHatch08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:13 AM   #7
severous01
 
Drives: 2008 yaris, stripped, red
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 983
am loses too much power over distance...that's why fm is around...also, fm modulation can carry much more information than am. so you can get dual channels out of fm, like left and right sound.

am sounds fine and plays loud enough, if you're right next to the antenna

BTW, AM is for talking, not fm. so if any of you have any pull on fm 'morning shows' where all they do is talk, make them stick to the am stations...i like listening to music, not people talking about whatever it is they can pull out of their butts......................sorry to rant, just gets on my nerves.
severous01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 12:46 PM   #8
ChilliwackGuy
WCOAST CANADIAN DRIVER!!!
 
Drives: 2010 Hatch 5DR - AUTO/AC
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC, Canada
Posts: 109
So - - - - would this be a bad time to ask all u guys 4 a proper explanation as to how the ASL works? I've tried Low / Med / High / when using the radio - and I can't understand why mine doesn't seem to work.
ChilliwackGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 08:49 PM   #9
Steveh27
 
Drives: 2010 3dr hatchback auto red
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 81
This radios am vs fm is different than all my others.

Not a single other vehicle I've owned has had any significant difference in the volume output of AM vs FM. This is NOT due to any distance issue. On this radio when I have the FM volume set & switch to AM to check the weather or traffic it is so quiet it cannot be heard. When I get it set I have to remember to turn the vol down when jumping back to FM. Sometimes I switch back & forth every 5 minutes or more. None of my other vehicles over 40 years have had that difference. Bummer.
Steveh27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 04:57 AM   #10
fujiwaru
 
fujiwaru's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oahu,Hawaii
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveh27 View Post
I've turned the volume up to hear the AM news, weather & traffic, then push the FM button & I'm blasted into the back seat!

WIsh the volume output was the same on both AM & FM.
happens to me sometimes too
__________________
- Arvin
fujiwaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.