Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2014, 03:01 PM   #1
Ryze268
 
Ryze268's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 JDM Vitz 1.3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Antigua & Barbuda
Posts: 287
ECU Help

Hey guys,

I recently completed a Manual Conversion on my Vitz (JDM 2NZ-FE) however I ran into one problem.

The donor car I did the swap with didn't have a VVTi controller so we were forced to keep my Automatic Harness and ECU; because of this my Engine Check light is constantly on.

My question is, Would I be able to use a 2004-2006 MT XB ECU to fix my problem even though they came with 1NZ engines instead of 2NZ engines?

I think it's the closest vehicle to mine since XBs are non OBDII as well.

Thanks
-Justin
__________________
2000 JDM Vitz [2NZ-FE Crap-otmatic] < Now Manual Conversion complete

Follow me on Instagram:

instagram.com/itzkingjustin
Ryze268 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 03:38 PM   #2
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,924
i'm sure you will have to find a 2nz ECU..

Last edited by tk-421; 05-01-2014 at 07:54 PM.
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 04:51 PM   #3
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryze268 View Post
Hey guys,

I recently completed a Manual Conversion on my Vitz (JDM 2NZ-FE) however I ran into one problem.

The donor car I did the swap with didn't have a VVTi controller so we were forced to keep my Automatic Harness and ECU; because of this my Engine Check light is constantly on.

My question is, Would I be able to use a 2004-2006 MT XB ECU to fix my problem even though they came with 1NZ engines instead of 2NZ engines?

I think it's the closest vehicle to mine since XBs are non OBDII as well.

Thanks
-Justin
I would try to find a 2NZ manual transmission ECM, so that you actually take advantage of the VVTI on the second cam.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 05:43 PM   #4
Ryze268
 
Ryze268's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 JDM Vitz 1.3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Antigua & Barbuda
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
I would try to find a 2NZ manual transmission ECM, so that you actually take advantage of the VVTI on the second cam.
Basically, the 1NZ ECU from the XB won't work?
__________________
2000 JDM Vitz [2NZ-FE Crap-otmatic] < Now Manual Conversion complete

Follow me on Instagram:

instagram.com/itzkingjustin
Ryze268 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 06:17 PM   #5
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryze268 View Post
Basically, the 1NZ ECU from the XB won't work?
No. It would need to be from another 2NZ vehicle, if you swapped the tranny, but kept your same 2NZ engine. All 1NZs are single cam, and their ECMs lack the input for the 2nd cam sensor and output to drive the 2nd oil control valve.
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 07:50 PM   #6
Ryze268
 
Ryze268's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 JDM Vitz 1.3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Antigua & Barbuda
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
No. It would need to be from another 2NZ vehicle, if you swapped the tranny, but kept your same 2NZ engine. All 1NZs are single cam, and their ECMs lack the input for the 2nd cam sensor and output to drive the 2nd oil control valve.
Wow, thanks for the info. I thought they were they same engine just a different stroke. Where can I read up more about these engines?
__________________
2000 JDM Vitz [2NZ-FE Crap-otmatic] < Now Manual Conversion complete

Follow me on Instagram:

instagram.com/itzkingjustin
Ryze268 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 08:38 PM   #7
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryze268 View Post
Wow, thanks for the info. I thought they were they same engine just a different stroke. Where can I read up more about these engines?
Actually, I must be smoking crack tonight. The 1NZ and 2NZ are basically the same. I was thinking of the 1NR-FE, which is dual VVTI.

So, back to your original question - Your fuel maps would be a bit rich with a 1NZ ECM, but other than that it should be OK. Can you post a picture of the ECM connectors on your Vitz ECM?
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 08:39 PM   #8
Bluevitz-rs
1NZ-6spd Turbo
 
Bluevitz-rs's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 6-Spd Vitz RS Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,962
I was just about to post up about that haha


Sent from my iPod Touch
Bluevitz-rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 09:28 PM   #9
Ryze268
 
Ryze268's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 JDM Vitz 1.3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Antigua & Barbuda
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Actually, I must be smoking crack tonight. The 1NZ and 2NZ are basically the same. I was thinking of the 1NR-FE, which is dual VVTI.

So, back to your original question - Your fuel maps would be a bit rich with a 1NZ ECM, but other than that it should be OK. Can you post a picture of the ECM connectors on your Vitz ECM?
lol we all have our moments.

Running rich won't be bad as long as I can get rid of the check engine light. I ordered a bigger throttle body, hopefully it fits.

Next up are bigger injectors and an adjustable fuel pressure regulator.

I plan to dabble in a bit of forced induction soon. I'll see if I can get that pic for you in the morning.

Thanks
-Justin
__________________
2000 JDM Vitz [2NZ-FE Crap-otmatic] < Now Manual Conversion complete

Follow me on Instagram:

instagram.com/itzkingjustin
Ryze268 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ecu, manual, swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with 2NZ ECU pinout Aleil DIY / Maintenance / Service 3 12-28-2020 09:40 AM
I finally cracked the Odometer and SRS ECU code CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 22 10-27-2016 01:50 AM
standalone and stock ecu Radou Performance Modifications 0 06-16-2013 04:47 PM
Yaris ECU broken??!!!!!! phb10186 General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 30 05-26-2010 09:56 AM
Tricking the ECU to Relearn AF map gwasabi Performance Modifications 126 05-16-2009 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.