Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 960
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
Can we do this? (aka The DIY Cruise Control Thread)

As I took off my steering column cover, I noticed that there was a rectangle of thinned plastic where a cruise control stalk would normally go. It got me to thinking, what if we could plug this in? After all, almost all Toyota electronics, like this and turn signal stalks, etc, are interchangeable.
This attached picture makes me think, since our cars are drive by wire, that it would be plug and play. I could be wrong, of course, since I'm not a Toyota mechanic. Anyone have any input?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg !BP1dTW!!mk~$(KGrHgoH-D8EjlLl)cYWBJ1qlrjDww~~_1.JPG (13.3 KB, 4552 views)
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:22 PM   #2
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,638
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
Oh realllly, would this also apply to the 07 5spd?
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:27 PM   #3
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 520
WHAT. If this is the case, I am totally going to buy the stalk and install this!!

[Edit]: Does anyone know what the part # for the stalk is?
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:29 PM   #4
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,638
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
If someone can get a part number on that I'll order it and try it if its not outragously expensive
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:34 PM   #5
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 960
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
The factory part (it's the same for the Yaris, Camry, Rav4, etc) is on ebay for like $13 plus $17 shipping. The part number, for those who don't want to use ebay is 8463234011
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:50 PM   #6
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbond View Post
The factory part (it's the same for the Yaris, Camry, Rav4, etc) is on ebay for like $13 plus $17 shipping. The part number, for those who don't want to use ebay is 8463234011
Yeah I just found it on eBay. Going to order one and test it out!
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:51 PM   #7
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 960
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
^lol I just ordered one maybe 20 minutes ago. Let's see whose comes first!
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:53 PM   #8
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,638
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
I did not!.... oh wait... yes I did..
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:10 PM   #9
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 520
^ lol. I just ordered one too. You will most likely get yours first, as things take literally forever to cross the border by USPS. But, it's better than paying tons of $$$ for UPS.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:22 PM   #10
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,638
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
If it needs another control module, Ill just buy that too, now that ive ordered the stalk switch. Ive seen a wrecked prius in a local yard I can check for one.
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:47 PM   #11
firemachine69
School'er of hard knocks
 
Drives: Silver Yaris 4dr. HB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sudbury, On
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by devinlamothe View Post
^ lol. I just ordered one too. You will most likely get yours first, as things take literally forever to cross the border by USPS. But, it's better than paying tons of $$$ for UPS.
Give me a heads up if it works.


BTW, we have weekly car meets at the "big" timmies on Lorne Sunday night at 8pm. I should be there tomorrow. It's in the "events" of our local forum (noted below, no spaces.)

www. sudburyrides. com
firemachine69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:14 PM   #12
jess
 
Drives: 09 hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ca
Posts: 24
I'm hoping it works too!

What else might be pre-wired?

My Y was barebones from the dealership.
jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:18 PM   #13
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,638
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
well it looks like 4 of us have ordered it in the last few minutes HAHA so one of us should be able to say yay or nay
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:18 PM   #14
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by firemachine69 View Post
Give me a heads up if it works.


BTW, we have weekly car meets at the "big" timmies on Lorne Sunday night at 8pm. I should be there tomorrow. It's in the "events" of our local forum (noted below, no spaces.)

www. sudburyrides. com
I will shoot you a PM if it indeed works. I may or may not make it out tomorrow, since I am being dragged to Easter dinner with my family ... and they like to eat late.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:19 PM   #15
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNet0 View Post
well it looks like 4 of us have ordered it in the last few minutes HAHA so one of us should be able to say yay or nay
Yeah I was looking at one of the stalks on eBay and refreshed the page, and it says "This item has been bought using Buy it Now" LOL so one of you guys most likely stole that one away from me haha.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:40 PM   #16
Kal-El
 
Kal-El's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris S Sedan 5-Speed
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,179
If it's that cheap and easy, why doesn't Toyota just make Cruise standard on the Yaris? We're talking like $15 a Yaris? Seems like the expensive part is already installed (wiring/cruise mechanics).

Kal-El is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 12:03 AM   #17
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal-El View Post
If it's that cheap and easy, why doesn't Toyota just make Cruise standard on the Yaris? We're talking like $15 a Yaris? Seems like the expensive part is already installed (wiring/cruise mechanics).

And if it doesn't work then we are out $15 bucks, not a big deal.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 12:20 AM   #18
kenkyd
kanye
 
Drives: 11 Corolla S
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to kenkyd
oh this is tense
kenkyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - 2009 Cruise Control for $10, without pulling the steering wheel and airbag CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 306 05-11-2021 11:37 AM
DIY Cruise Control on 07-08 Yaris (step by step) Vince87 DIY / Maintenance / Service 431 12-28-2020 02:37 AM
Cruise Control - Again! CB900F2 DIY / Maintenance / Service 47 06-17-2010 07:29 PM
Cruise control vs MPG YarisOwnersDad Fuel Economy Forum 15 05-29-2009 04:55 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.