Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Members Area > Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 02:21 AM   #1
kustom play
pink wheels are cool
 
kustom play's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,421
totally awesome guage cluster

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51U1KiNUlTo

awesome!
__________________


http://www.4055design.com
kustom play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:40 AM   #2
Kaotic Lazagna
 
Kaotic Lazagna's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 GT86, '08 Vitz
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 9,695
That is quite nice.
Kaotic Lazagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:47 AM   #3
kac
 
kac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite 3dr
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West/Central Illinois
Posts: 544
very sweet
__________________
Touchscreen DVD Navigation - 10" Bazooka Subwoofer - Kenwood Speakers - Toyota Premium Horn set
AFE Pro Dry Air Filter - modified air intake box - 1ZZ-FE Throttle Body - Ultra Racing Rear Sway Bar & Front Strut Bar
NST in cabin & engine bay SSK's - TWM shifter base bushings & cable bushings - Megan Racing C-Pillar Brace
kac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:04 AM   #4
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 4,367


I wonder if we could get OBDII signals through USB at that refresh rate... I could add that to my list of mods for my carpc!

Sorry for the geekspeak... Hopefully somebody will pick up on it though.
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:52 AM   #5
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk-421 View Post


I wonder if we could get OBDII signals through USB at that refresh rate... I could add that to my list of mods for my carpc!

Sorry for the geekspeak... Hopefully somebody will pick up on it though.
you could through the new USB , the 2.0 could probably do it too but not the whole cluster
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:43 AM   #6
hatchbackkid82
 
hatchbackkid82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Takoma Park, MD
Posts: 1,831
Send a message via AIM to hatchbackkid82
all those moving parts...only a matter of time before things start to break. looks good though
hatchbackkid82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:13 AM   #7
Midon
Mod Freak
 
Drives: 88 MR2 GT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Gainesville, TX
Posts: 147
the only problem with getting that speed through USB 2.0 is the chip that transfers the signal to usb. correct me if I am wrong but the best chip out there is an ELM 327 and when i use it to look at real time data on every sensor on my yaris i cant get any faster then 35-40 hrz. which is no were near what you need for running a tack. This also looks like a simulated display to me. Now that can make a diplay like this for a car that is hard wired into the computer, that I am pretty sure of.
Midon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:38 AM   #8
cruz-gsr
 
cruz-gsr's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Yaris Lift Back
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ashland Mass
Posts: 512
i want one
__________________
cruz-gsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:45 AM   #9
kustom play
pink wheels are cool
 
kustom play's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,421
cluster is prob like 5g alone
__________________


http://www.4055design.com
kustom play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:34 AM   #10
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midon View Post
the only problem with getting that speed through USB 2.0 is the chip that transfers the signal to usb. correct me if I am wrong but the best chip out there is an ELM 327 and when i use it to look at real time data on every sensor on my yaris i cant get any faster then 35-40 hrz. which is no were near what you need for running a tack. This also looks like a simulated display to me. Now that can make a diplay like this for a car that is hard wired into the computer, that I am pretty sure of.
ELM 327 is old there are new chips out there. And i have no problem running my ELM327 in my Yaris , no lag at all. Its mostly software that needs to be optimized
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:46 AM   #11
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
LOL talk about "bells" and "whistles". That display is wild!

Bam, you hit a tree.
Bam, you hit another car.
Bam, you hit a pedestrian.

And so forth.
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:16 PM   #12
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by cali yaris View Post
LOL talk about "bells" and "whistles". That display is wild!

Bam, you hit a tree.
Bam, you hit another car.
Bam, you hit a pedestrian.

And so forth.
Bam, you dont deserve to own a car like this if you cant concentrate on the goddamn road

Another reason for Americans to justify suing Toyota.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:36 PM   #13
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midon View Post
the only problem with getting that speed through USB 2.0 is the chip that transfers the signal to usb. correct me if I am wrong but the best chip out there is an ELM 327 and when i use it to look at real time data on every sensor on my yaris i cant get any faster then 35-40 hrz. which is no were near what you need for running a tack. This also looks like a simulated display to me. Now that can make a diplay like this for a car that is hard wired into the computer, that I am pretty sure of.
With my YarGauge CAN interface (home brew) I can hit the full 100 Mbit CAN speed. I can hammer the ECM and get reliable responses at 100 Hz.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:41 PM   #14
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 4,367
@CTScott: Nice! Would you say that similar speeds can be achieved using ELM327+USB2.0?
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:53 PM   #15
Altitude
 
Altitude's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 LB MT Bayou
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,700
CTScott - Do you have any links you can supply re: the CAN protocol and/or schematics for an interface?
Altitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:59 PM   #16
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altitude View Post
CTScott - Do you have any links you can supply re: the CAN protocol and/or schematics for an interface?
here you go:
http://www.kvaser.com/index.htm
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:02 PM   #17
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altitude View Post
CTScott - Do you have any links you can supply re: the CAN protocol and/or schematics for an interface?
The protocol for the OBD data is the same as for ISO-9141. Microchip makes a couple of development boards for CAN:


http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...&part=DM163007
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 01:22 PM   #18
Midon
Mod Freak
 
Drives: 88 MR2 GT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Gainesville, TX
Posts: 147
Interesting, I knew my elm327 was old but it gets the job done, I just know it cant do something like that display.
Midon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OZ CLUSTER Lewis DIY / Maintenance / Service 226 11-15-2009 09:19 AM
FS: Gauge Cluster from '09 LB- $150 MGargano Items for Sale by private party 14 10-05-2009 12:59 PM
Shifter knob/gauge cluster color DevilGirl Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 08-11-2009 10:18 PM
WTB: Guage cluster from "S" model kac Willing to Buy by private party 3 07-20-2009 11:26 PM
Removing Liftback Guage Cluster Surround Ran Kizama In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 05-09-2007 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.