Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2009, 06:57 PM   #1
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 961
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
Can we do this? (aka The DIY Cruise Control Thread)

As I took off my steering column cover, I noticed that there was a rectangle of thinned plastic where a cruise control stalk would normally go. It got me to thinking, what if we could plug this in? After all, almost all Toyota electronics, like this and turn signal stalks, etc, are interchangeable.
This attached picture makes me think, since our cars are drive by wire, that it would be plug and play. I could be wrong, of course, since I'm not a Toyota mechanic. Anyone have any input?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg !BP1dTW!!mk~$(KGrHgoH-D8EjlLl)cYWBJ1qlrjDww~~_1.JPG (13.3 KB, 4185 views)
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 07:10 PM   #2
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,340
i think you can , i just checked the EWB and it seems we just need the stalk.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:22 PM   #3
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,669
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
Oh realllly, would this also apply to the 07 5spd?
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:25 PM   #4
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNet0 View Post
Oh realllly, would this also apply to the 07 5spd?
if im not mistaken yes, CTScott would probably be better suited to answer this since he knows the EWB inside out , but from what i have seen all you need i think is to plug in the stalk to complete the circuit and the ECM does the rest
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:27 PM   #5
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
WHAT. If this is the case, I am totally going to buy the stalk and install this!!

[Edit]: Does anyone know what the part # for the stalk is?
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:29 PM   #6
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,669
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
If someone can get a part number on that I'll order it and try it if its not outragously expensive
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:34 PM   #7
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 961
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
The factory part (it's the same for the Yaris, Camry, Rav4, etc) is on ebay for like $13 plus $17 shipping. The part number, for those who don't want to use ebay is 8463234011
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:50 PM   #8
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbond View Post
The factory part (it's the same for the Yaris, Camry, Rav4, etc) is on ebay for like $13 plus $17 shipping. The part number, for those who don't want to use ebay is 8463234011
Yeah I just found it on eBay. Going to order one and test it out!
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:51 PM   #9
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 961
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
^lol I just ordered one maybe 20 minutes ago. Let's see whose comes first!
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:53 PM   #10
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,669
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
I did not!.... oh wait... yes I did..
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:10 PM   #11
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
^ lol. I just ordered one too. You will most likely get yours first, as things take literally forever to cross the border by USPS. But, it's better than paying tons of $$$ for UPS.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:18 PM   #12
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,340
guys , easy wait for CTScott to confirm if this is doable. From what i saw in the wiring it seems it will work , but i don't want you guys to spend money if you need an extra control module for it to work
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:22 PM   #13
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,669
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
If it needs another control module, Ill just buy that too, now that ive ordered the stalk switch. Ive seen a wrecked prius in a local yard I can check for one.
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:47 PM   #14
firemachine69
School'er of hard knocks
 
Drives: Silver Yaris 4dr. HB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sudbury, On
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by devinlamothe View Post
^ lol. I just ordered one too. You will most likely get yours first, as things take literally forever to cross the border by USPS. But, it's better than paying tons of $$$ for UPS.
Give me a heads up if it works.


BTW, we have weekly car meets at the "big" timmies on Lorne Sunday night at 8pm. I should be there tomorrow. It's in the "events" of our local forum (noted below, no spaces.)

www. sudburyrides. com
firemachine69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:55 PM   #15
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,340
well im re reading the EWD and the Cruise Control Manual and it seems the Yaris is pre-wired, if this is the case the dealerships are making a killing by charging 500$ extra for Cruise control. I hope this works.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:14 PM   #16
jess
 
Drives: 09 hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ca
Posts: 22
I'm hoping it works too!

What else might be pre-wired?

My Y was barebones from the dealership.
jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:18 PM   #17
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,669
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
well it looks like 4 of us have ordered it in the last few minutes HAHA so one of us should be able to say yay or nay
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:18 PM   #18
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by firemachine69 View Post
Give me a heads up if it works.


BTW, we have weekly car meets at the "big" timmies on Lorne Sunday night at 8pm. I should be there tomorrow. It's in the "events" of our local forum (noted below, no spaces.)

www. sudburyrides. com
I will shoot you a PM if it indeed works. I may or may not make it out tomorrow, since I am being dragged to Easter dinner with my family ... and they like to eat late.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - 2009 Cruise Control for $10, without pulling the steering wheel and airbag CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 303 04-03-2017 07:34 PM
DIY Cruise Control on 07-08 Yaris (step by step) Vince87 DIY / Maintenance / Service 424 05-10-2015 04:37 PM
Cruise Control - Again! CB900F2 DIY / Maintenance / Service 47 06-17-2010 06:29 PM
Cruise control vs MPG YarisOwnersDad Fuel Economy Forum 15 05-29-2009 03:55 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.