Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2006, 06:08 PM   #1
Leenis24
lil' town up north
 
Leenis24's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris LB 5 speed Meteorite
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Vermont
Posts: 92
DIY: TACH INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS

Hey all, i installed a tach today. It was reletively easy. The longest part was finding where to put the wires. I have pics(cell phone, sorry for quality) for the installation process.


Sorry i didnt get the Red tach wire pic, but i just input it into the ACC fuse under the driverside dash. This way when the key is turned on and car started, the tach will also come to life. Its in slot #24 in the fuse box housing and is a 7.5 amp fuse. This will power the tach at 12v. I just put the wire right to the fuse, i choose to do this cause i didn't know where else to put it. Im sure you could hook it up more properly on some wire somewhere nearby.

Hope this all helps.

UPDATE: (6/11/06) Dont hook the illumination wire to the Greenish-blue wire on the dimmer as in the first picture shown, try hooking it to either the stereo illumination or some other dash lighting.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg install1.jpg (464.4 KB, 8803 views)
File Type: jpg install2.jpg (447.7 KB, 8217 views)
File Type: jpg install3.jpg (442.0 KB, 8306 views)
File Type: jpg Tach closeup.jpg (313.4 KB, 8059 views)
File Type: jpg Tach far-away.jpg (303.8 KB, 7947 views)

Last edited by Leenis24; 06-11-2006 at 02:55 PM.
Leenis24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 06:14 PM   #2
eight_heads
 
eight_heads's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 244
looks pretty good except for the dimmer wire... you usually don't want to run anything extra off of the dimmer switch plug because it can burn out the switch...
__________________

'07 Yaris Liftback
-Red 5spd w/convenience
eight_heads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 06:17 PM   #3
Leenis24
lil' town up north
 
Leenis24's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris LB 5 speed Meteorite
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Vermont
Posts: 92
Ya but its just the illumination wire, to light the tach. Not like its the red power wire, should be fine.
Leenis24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 06:27 PM   #4
swng
 
swng's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 3-dr auto RS
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BC
Posts: 1,051
Kind of cute tach!
swng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 09:24 PM   #5
Supa Lao
 
Drives: '03 Murano SL AWD
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 41
Thanks for the how to. I'll be adding one when mine comes in here. I'm debating if I want to put it on the steering column or on the a-pillar like you guys.
Supa Lao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 03:34 PM   #6
eight_heads
 
eight_heads's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 244
also, you could probuably hook the illumination wire to the illum wire for the stereo....all it does is makes it come on brighter when your headlight are on...
__________________

'07 Yaris Liftback
-Red 5spd w/convenience
eight_heads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2006, 02:52 PM   #7
Leenis24
lil' town up north
 
Leenis24's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris LB 5 speed Meteorite
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Vermont
Posts: 92
Umm ya found a little problem with hooking the illumination wire to the wire that i used on the dimmer. Either the tach light is on fully, or the dash lighting is on fully. I put the dimmer half way so that the dash and tach have half lighting. Im going to fix this liitle problem as soon as it stops raining up her in NE. Other than that it all work fine, i love my new tach.
Leenis24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 01:01 AM   #8
suzu
 
Drives: 3dr lb
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 6
is a tach necessary?

guys, i know that its great to get help in installing a tach. BUT i must say for some of the experienced stick sh. (manual) drivers, like myself, the tach is not necessary. i drive by hearing the engine and i can tell you it works perfectly OK. i am just curious....how many of you are actually gonna use the tach for the purpose of changing gears.
suzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 06:31 AM   #9
Supa Lao
 
Drives: '03 Murano SL AWD
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 41
I'll be adding one to use for autoX
__________________
Coming soon: Blazing Blue liftback 5spd sometime this year hopefully
Supa Lao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 04:18 PM   #10
eight_heads
 
eight_heads's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 244
i like to have them because they tell you alot about how the engine is doing if you know what to look for... plus, if you are listening to the radio loud you may not be able to hear or feel the engine as much.... i've never needed one, just like to have one
__________________

'07 Yaris Liftback
-Red 5spd w/convenience
eight_heads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 08:55 PM   #11
why?
Only Happy When it Rains
 
why?'s Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: harnett county NC
Posts: 4,129
Yea, its definately not necesary, but I like having it, and if I ever do decide to do some type of racing, it will come in very handy.
__________________
Colin Chapman disciple
why? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 01:43 PM   #12
ROCKLAND TOYOTA
TRIM HUNTER
 
ROCKLAND TOYOTA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BLAZIN BLUE YARIS 3 DR
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ROCKLAND COUNTY NY
Posts: 2,099
sorry to say but i don't like the looks of that tach. way tooo small for me.....
ROCKLAND TOYOTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 04:13 PM   #13
eight_heads
 
eight_heads's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROCKLAND TOYOTA
sorry to say but i don't like the looks of that tach. way tooo small for me.....
i personally HATE those 5" tachs in anything other than a drag car... maybe it's just me... i personally just ordered a 2" tach for my car
__________________

'07 Yaris Liftback
-Red 5spd w/convenience
eight_heads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 06:54 PM   #14
Young-Adolf
 
Drives: 2001 Chevy Cobalt SS/SC
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 6
Shoulda got a 5" with a 4 inch shift light
__________________
Chevy Cobalt SS/SC with G85 Package.
Young-Adolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 09:58 PM   #15
Leenis24
lil' town up north
 
Leenis24's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris LB 5 speed Meteorite
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Vermont
Posts: 92
I love having a tach, like eight_heads said, when listening to music i cant hear the engine and stall sometimes or rev out to much. A tach is not necesary for some, but i love having one. I think i look at my tach more than the speedo

Oh and huge 5" tachs are ugly. Way to big, they look like there used on a huge ship or a cargo plane or some other big machinery, to big for a car i think.
Leenis24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 06:19 PM   #16
spacemanoeuvres
spase peepole
 
spacemanoeuvres's Avatar
 
Drives: BLAZING BLUE Liftback 5 Speed
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leenis24
when listening to music i cant hear the engine and...rev out to much.
same here, I accidentally laid wheels at a light on the way home from work today

hope to install the tach this weekend. I'll def use your instructions so thanks again
__________________
we am spase peepole
spacemanoeuvres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 11:06 AM   #17
why?
Only Happy When it Rains
 
why?'s Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: harnett county NC
Posts: 4,129
I like mine. I'm too blind to see the smaller tachs, lol. The big one reduces eye strain.
__________________
Colin Chapman disciple
why? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 11:37 PM   #18
eight_heads
 
eight_heads's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LA, USA
Posts: 244
well i got my tach in today, just waiting for the universal gauge pod to try out... then i will post some pics
__________________

'07 Yaris Liftback
-Red 5spd w/convenience
eight_heads is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Liftback Spoiler Installation Toddhata Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 25 08-09-2009 01:26 AM
US Yaris: Adding a tach? Thirty-Nine General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 159 04-05-2007 08:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.