Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2009, 04:53 PM   #109
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
The current draw in negligible, so any switch will work. Fitting four of the ones I used is tricky. I drew it up in CAD and found that I only had a margin of about 1/8" for the four switches to fit through the hole behind the trim piece. One thing I just realized that I didn't check how much that hole can be widened.

The hole can be widened A LOT, maybe half an inch on the radius. The catch is the plastic material is like an inch thick. It would make a huge mess to remove it.

PS the switch Im thinking of using is Digikey EG2021-ND.

Last edited by bronsin; 06-03-2009 at 05:06 PM.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 05:06 PM   #110
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronsin View Post
The hole can be widened A LOT, maybe half an inch on the radius. The catch is the plastic material is like an inch think. It would make a huge mess to remove it.
That's the nice thing about mounting the switches to that removable trim piece - All of the drilling mess happens on the bench instead of in the car.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:39 PM   #111
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
Here is my switch install showing the radio shack numbers. Note: I havnt tried this out in the dash to see if my hole position is correct!


bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:44 PM   #112
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronsin View Post
Here is my switch install showing the radio shack numbers. Note: I havnt tried this out in the dash to see if my hole position is correct!


Looks close. If you look at the scratched cross and circle on the back of mine you can see the center point of the hole and approximate diameter.

CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:50 PM   #113
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
Looks like its possible with these switches that they will fit even if they dont make the hole, judging by the standoffs on the panel itself.

Yeah it fits! The switches are on a 3/4 inch circle. The center of the circle is 1 3/16 inches from the top of the panel (as measured on the outside of the panel) and 1 7/16 inches from the right side of the panel. I cut a 1 1/2 inch circle (the diameter of the cutout in the dash)from a piece of paper and laid out the switches on the paper. Then glued the paper to the panel measureing the center point of the circle from the sides.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 03:49 PM   #114
marcus
toyota
 
marcus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS Blazed
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 3,637
would this work for any other cars..
marcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 03:57 PM   #115
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcus View Post
would this work for any other cars..
Such as?

I would think that based on what we found with the Yaris it would probably be doable for any drive by wire Toyota.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:01 PM   #116
marcus
toyota
 
marcus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS Blazed
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 3,637
nice...
marcus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:21 PM   #117
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
IM thinking something similiar will work for all such DBW cars.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:01 AM   #118
Pitt Yaris
 
Drives: Flint Mica Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickJohnson View Post
No, the 2008 LB doesn't have the light on the dash. But really, I didn't need it. I may at some point add the other 2 buttons though.
So did you have to do more than ctscott?
Pitt Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:04 AM   #119
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitt Yaris View Post
So did you have to do more than ctscott?
Take a look at this thread:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16188

It shows what is required to do it with and 07 or 08. Basically, the extra work is running a wire from the switches to an empty pin on the ECM.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:29 PM   #120
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
Mod is in and working! The lights for CC come on in the dash and the four buttons are working. I really needed this because my feet are going numb and its hard to feel how much to press the gas pedal. Now I can do it with the pushbuttons a lot of the time. Thankyou so much for this idea!

PS The wife and everybody at work were not exactly supportive about this. "Whattaya messin' wit a bran new car fo...yo is gonna RUIN it!" You need to break through this negative energy sometimes!

PPS My car is a 2009 Basic 2 door HB. Made last September. Oh and it is black in color. I think that helped....
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 04:47 PM   #121
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
I have two sets of resistors and two sets of switches I bought that I didnt use. For $5 Ill send you a set. PM me if intereted.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 06:11 PM   #122
POORSHA
 
POORSHA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 LB
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NE CT
Posts: 418
pm'd
POORSHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:39 PM   #123
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by POORSHA View Post
pm'd
Let me know if you need help with the install, since you're in CT as well.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:20 AM   #124
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
Hold on just a couple more days and I'll have that module installed. I just haven't had time to rip the dash again. I also have to rethink my clutch switch, the switch broke. That's what I get for going cheap :) Anyway, I'll prolly just buy the oem one. I'll put picks up when I'm done with all of this...
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 12:24 AM   #125
POORSHA
 
POORSHA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 LB
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NE CT
Posts: 418
thanks i might just take you up on it
POORSHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:33 AM   #126
goat1of2
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris LB Auto 3-door
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 9
In order to provide the on-off indicators which some folks want...rather than messing with wiring LEDS and such, why not just buy an illuminated switch button? Would that work? If so, which Digikey part number would you supersmart electronics types recommend?

I'm about to make an offer on an 07 Yaris without cruise and am MOST grateful that I stumbled on this thread! Thank you all!
goat1of2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM foglight switch and leather wrap steering wheel 808yarisLB Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 8 03-11-2009 01:05 AM
SCION SPORT STEERING WHEEL, RED, XA AND XB, 03 TO 06 justoneyaris Items for Sale by private party 3 12-04-2008 07:30 PM
steering wheel setup aucorium Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 0 07-24-2007 02:05 AM
How do you take off steering wheel mrrock Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 12-05-2006 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.