Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2009, 09:25 PM   #145
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_dragon_192 View Post
ctscott,

one last question (for the next 30 seconds )

With the 07=08 mod, all we are doing to shorting pin 40 on the ECU to ground to turn on the CS and then short it to ground with a load (~600 ohms) to set the CS..

Or did I miss something?

Blue
That's all that's to it. See if your sedan has a wire already in pin 40. If so, you can tap it way up under the dash (per the discussion buried in that thread), or at least tap it somewhere along the line.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:35 PM   #146
Blue_dragon_192
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris 4dr Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
That's all that's to it. See if your sedan has a wire already in pin 40. If so, you can tap it way up under the dash (per the discussion buried in that thread), or at least tap it somewhere along the line.
Ok. The next dumb question. Where is the ECM??????
Blue_dragon_192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:42 PM   #147
PatrickJohnson
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris LB
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 198
if you are standing in front of the car looking at the engine bay, it is attached to the firewall in the upper left corner
PatrickJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:43 PM   #148
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
And to answer the next question, here's the location of pin 40:

CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:56 PM   #149
Blue_dragon_192
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris 4dr Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
And to answer the next question, here's the location of pin 40:

OK.

looking at the engine bay and now understand the diagrams....
Since it's too dark out and my wife's scion is in the garage, I will attempt this at a different date.
Thank you all for your input...i hope this works.
Blue_dragon_192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 01:06 AM   #150
Revsson
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite Metallic LB MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 810
Where's the engine bay??


just kidding

I have the factory cruise, but if I didn't, I'd probably try this mod.
CT Scott is one of the best with electronics in this forum!!!
Revsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:52 AM   #151
Blue_dragon_192
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris 4dr Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revsson View Post
Where's the engine bay??


just kidding

I have the factory cruise, but if I didn't, I'd probably try this mod.
CT Scott is one of the best with electronics in this forum!!!
Wait................These things have engines?

And here I thought they ran by magic.

Revsson, I am very fluent in sarcasm.......

From all the posts I read, CT Scott knows his stuff. I now have to get the courage to mess with the ECM and get the cruise working.
I am far more comfortable in a room full of servers, the car stuff is a little daunting, when dealing with an ECM!
Blue_dragon_192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:57 AM   #152
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
I had the Yaris out this weekend for a trip to upstate NY and back. (about 250 miles each way) So the CC mod got a good workout. It worked very well indeed! The car got just about 40 mpg when I set the speed on 70 mph. I did the four switch version which gives you plus one and minus one mph at the touch of a button. It came in very handy and I recommend going the four switch route if you install this mod. Getting the Radio Shack really mini switches made doing the four switch really easy...
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 06:43 PM   #153
TylerJ
 
Drives: Blazing Blue 2007 3dr HB 5MT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 14
Unhappy Help with cruise control switches

I have been looking for a cruise control solution for a while, I am glad I found this thread

I have a 2007 Yaris 3dr Liftback with 5 spd MT, if I can't see the lit icons that you showed in the first few pictures does that mean I can't perform this DIY?
TylerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:28 PM   #154
Sir A.Y. Atoyot
 
Sir A.Y. Atoyot's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 5-door
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey, BC Canada
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerJ View Post
I have been looking for a cruise control solution for a while, I am glad I found this thread

I have a 2007 Yaris 3dr Liftback with 5 spd MT, if I can't see the lit icons that you showed in the first few pictures does that mean I can't perform this DIY?
It just means no indicator lights - the actual cruise will work fine, if properly connected.
Sir A.Y. Atoyot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 08:15 AM   #155
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerJ View Post
I have been looking for a cruise control solution for a while, I am glad I found this thread

I have a 2007 Yaris 3dr Liftback with 5 spd MT, if I can't see the lit icons that you showed in the first few pictures does that mean I can't perform this DIY?
You can do it on a USDM 07 for sure. You will need to run a wire from the switches directly to the ECM's pin 40 on an 07 or 08. Also, with a MT you will need to add the clutch switch and wire it to the connector in the under hood fuse panel. Check out the tail end of this thread for more details:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16188
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 03:50 PM   #156
tforkner
 
Drives: 08 liftback 5 speed
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: georgia
Posts: 20
Here's how I did my clutch switch. I used a SPDT submini roller lever switch, Radio Shack # 275-0017. I superglued it in place on the metal bracket.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg switch pic.JPG (98.0 KB, 348 views)
tforkner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:00 AM   #157
TylerJ
 
Drives: Blazing Blue 2007 3dr HB 5MT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 14
Thanks for those of you who responded to my question. I am thinking about doing this mod this weekend. I will update on how it turns out.
TylerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:40 AM   #158
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
Does anyone know the Toyota Part Number for the dash panel next to the ignition switch? (the one I put the switches in for the CC) Im thinking it would be handy to have in case the car needs warranty work!
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 05:00 PM   #159
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronsin View Post
Does anyone know the Toyota Part Number for the dash panel next to the ignition switch? (the one I put the switches in for the CC) Im thinking it would be handy to have in case the car needs warranty work!
55446-52060-B0
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 07:48 PM   #160
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
Thanks much appreciated!
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:19 PM   #161
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 4,790
55446-52060-BO is $22 BTW.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 02:16 PM   #162
TylerJ
 
Drives: Blazing Blue 2007 3dr HB 5MT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
You can do it on a USDM 07 for sure. You will need to run a wire from the switches directly to the ECM's pin 40 on an 07 or 08. Also, with a MT you will need to add the clutch switch and wire it to the connector in the under hood fuse panel. Check out the tail end of this thread for more details:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16188
I have two SPST N.O. momentary switches from radio shack and a pack of resistors I was just wondering what combination to use ... I have seen some people use 630 and others 660, I can do either with the supplies I have but was not sure about which is better CTScott mentioned I will have to hardwire the clutch switch into my under hood fuse box ... is this because we dont have the connector near the clutch pedal to just plug it in?
TylerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM foglight switch and leather wrap steering wheel 808yarisLB Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 8 03-11-2009 12:05 AM
SCION SPORT STEERING WHEEL, RED, XA AND XB, 03 TO 06 justoneyaris Items for Sale by private party 3 12-04-2008 06:30 PM
steering wheel setup aucorium Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 0 07-24-2007 01:05 AM
How do you take off steering wheel mrrock Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 12-05-2006 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.