Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Old 10-26-2013, 01:10 AM   #1
spektre

Drives: 2011 Yaris 3-door Lift-back
Total Newb - Need help with picking speakers, tools and terms

Hey everyone, I've got a 3 door 2011 Yaris (US). I've recently decided to replace my speakers and I want to do it myself so that I save on labor costs. Problem is, I've never actually ever bought or replaced car speakers before. I have no clue about the market and what I need to buy. I've been doing some research but it's left me confused.

I do know the size of the speakers I need but do I really need a sub? I found the bass from the factory units to be satisfying enough (for factory) so I was thinking I'd just buy 4 new speakers. What brands should I go for? I'd like to be frugal (as opposed to "cheap"). Also do I need a new amp? Ideally I'd only like to change the speakers.

Also I was reading about different speaker types and saw terms that I'm not sure I fully understand.. The amazon guide here left me a bit more confused about it all than I liked. So far I think I'm going to buy four coaxial speakers (2 front + 2 back) and forego the sub. Am I making sense here?

Sorry if I'm asking dumb/incorrect questions. I'm literally starting from scratch here and could use all the help I can get. I've set aside 4 months to save the money and plan this so I have time.

Last edited by spektre; 10-26-2013 at 01:22 AM.
spektre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 06:35 AM   #2
willygoodness

Drives: 09 yaris hb
if its cheaper.. just update the head unit to one that has better RMS output per channel. I noticed a big difference doing just that
willygoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:02 AM   #3
_S7V7N_

Drives: Yaris 4 Door Sedan
Send a message via Yahoo to _S7V7N_
What is your budget. $$$