Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2006, 01:40 AM   #1
H8SGAS
 
H8SGAS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black Liftback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 142
DIY: Discreet Mounting of 12V adaptor for the Gtech & V1

I didnít quite feel I had adequate enough electrical skills necessary for adding additional 12V plugs like this http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...&highlight=12v on a new car. However I needed a discreet set up to run at least two devices that utilized 12V power without gaudy wires running everywhere, thus this FAQ. After exploring locations for mounting the 3 plug accessory adaptor I found tons of room on top of the black plastic panel under the dash and in front of the pedals.


First undo these two screws, then detach a white plastic clip from the back and the panel will come down.
Yaris 054.jpg


I then removed the "sunglass holder" glove box located on the bottom left of the steering wheel. From the open position lift up gently and turn to the side.
Yaris 037.jpg


Then the A-pillar was removed by a slight prying action with a flathead screwdriver covered with cloth for the top two plastic screws. You can not see the screws as they ďunsnapĒ similar to buttons.
Yaris 034.jpg
Yaris 035.jpg


I then snaked the wires from the desired position (top left corner of the windshield for me) along the A-pillar line, down the hole through the sunglass glove box and to the removed panel.
Yaris 038.jpg


I then affixed the 3 port 12v adapter to the removed panel with velcro and tested the devices.
Yaris 044.jpg


I reattached the panel above the pedals and took this shot through the Sunglass glove box showing the 12v adapter and the two accessories I have plugged in.
Yaris 0491.JPG


Snapped the glove box and A-pillar back up and tucked the wire from the stock main plug.
Yaris 053.jpg
Yaris 055.jpg
Yaris 052.jpg



More on the G-tech later, Iíll post about it in the Performance section once I hopefully solve a RPM calibration issue. Otherwise it is useless to us Liftback owners as a solution for a Tach.
__________________
Well if itís not a hybrid how do you get such good mileage?
H8SGAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 03:01 AM   #2
Katana
 
Katana's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB 1.3lt 06
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under the hood!
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to Katana Send a message via Yahoo to Katana
I can help you on that calibartion issue mate.
Katana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 04:32 AM   #3
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,702
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
nice toes :D

cool wiring job too!
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 04:35 AM   #4
Katana
 
Katana's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB 1.3lt 06
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under the hood!
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to Katana Send a message via Yahoo to Katana
When I used the Gtech to measure my horsepower, I had problems with thw results.After the test it showed that I only had 62hp!

So, the calibration was wrong.I needed to turn on all the lights of the car, even the fog lights and the radio.Anything that uses electrical power.

After that, the results were 80hp, which is pretty normal.
Katana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 06:53 AM   #5
vodkalush
I drive a yarrrris
 
vodkalush's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Sedan Polar White
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to vodkalush
looks good. keep us updated with the g-tech.
__________________

Docotrs say all the drikning has mesesd up my seplilng and radieng


will work for parts
vodkalush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:33 AM   #6
Katana
 
Katana's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB 1.3lt 06
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under the hood!
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to Katana Send a message via Yahoo to Katana
Τhis G-tech is great stuff.
Katana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 11:31 PM   #7
H8SGAS
 
H8SGAS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black Liftback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 142
Hey Katana thanks for the help but it is a different issue. I bought primarily for it to serve as my Tach since the US spec does not have one...secondly for its proven ability (C&D R&T mags etc..) to measure hp, 1/4 mile, G's and tq not so much on this car but when/if I pick up another sports car. The problem is that in order for it to accurately read RPMs you need to sync it with a stock or aftermarket gauge (rev to 2K hold it press "ok" then 4K hold and it is set.) So I'm now trying to figure out a way to sync itÖ...One way is bring it to a dealer hop into a sedan, that is probably what I am going to do but I donít really want to remove all my wires and panels to unhook it. Alternatively I'm looking for ways to read it via the OBD II port or some other way that is "rentable" since it is a one time deal. I'll make another post in the performance category for any other issues with it as well as when it is fully functioning.
__________________
Well if itís not a hybrid how do you get such good mileage?
H8SGAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 02:50 AM   #8
Katana
 
Katana's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB 1.3lt 06
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under the hood!
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to Katana Send a message via Yahoo to Katana
Ι see.

When I did the calibration with the rpms of my engine, I had no problems.I think that you have to rev up to 3000rpms 2-3 times in order to make it correct.Doesn't it have any manual?
Katana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.