Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 01-08-2007, 06:42 PM   #1
Yaris TTE JWRC

Drives: 07 5spd red Yaris HB 1.5L 16V
Questions about downshifting

Hey guys, Yaris is my First MT, and im getting a hang of it with no problem now, but now im just learning some of the tricks of sitck shifting, such as the Heel and toe down shifting, and start to get a hang of it, one question to all of you been driving MT for a long time, is it okay for me to just down shift from 5th to 2nd to get the extra pick up of the speed while im traveling about 45-50MPH, the same question, can i just down shift form 5th to 3rd to pick up the extra speed on a High way while im traveling between 75-80MPH, is it bad for the engine, or tranny?

MT pro drivers please educate me

Last edited by Yaris TTE JWRC; 01-09-2007 at 01:12 AM.
Yaris TTE JWRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 06:56 PM   #2
YamilR

Drives: Absolutely Red Liftback
Send a message via Yahoo to YamilR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaris TTE JWRC View Post
Hey guys, Yaris is my First MT, and im getting a hang of it with no problem now, but now im just learning some of the tricks of sitck shifting, suck as the Heel and toe down shifting, and start to get a hang of it, one question to all of you been driving MT for a long time, is it okay for me to just down shift from 5th to 2nd to get the extra pick up of the speed while im traveling about 45-50MPH, the same question, can i just down shift form 5th to 3rd to pick up the extra speed on a High way while im traveling between 75-80MPH, is it bad for the engine, or tranny?

MT pro drivers please educate me
In my opinion, If your going to downshift just go back one gear at a time 75-80mph on 3rd gear is a killer for any tranny
YamilR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 07:01 PM   #3